Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Pretty good, something different. I halved the recipe and added 1/8 tsp ground chipolte powder. If I was to try this recipe again, I'd definitely add a bit more chipolte powder, maybe 1/4 tsp. Any heat that was there was outweighed by the cinnamon sugar. And WOW are these nuts SWEET!! But I guess that's what you get with candied almonds haha. I was looking for a recipe more close to what an old family friend referred to as "Vodka Nuts" Unfortunately, this recipe wasn't similar enough so the quest continues. I also sprinkled a little salt on the nuts after I separated them. I let the syrup reduce down as much as possible before adding the almonds. I think this really helped the almonds from getting soggy. As others have posted, it is so important that you reduce the syrup as much as possible or you will end up with mushy almonds. I boiled down the syrup and almond mixture until the sugar started searing to the pan and that seemed to be the perfect time to remove them from the heat. Separating the almonds on the wax paper was very easy and made clean up easy. All and all this recipe is very versatile and forgiving so I think it is worth the try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millie201188

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Delicious! I added 1/4 tsp each of salt and cayenne, and followed the cooking directions exactly, and they turned out perfectly crunchy with a hint of spice. I will totally be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Overall a good recipe. You get a good taste of the cinnamon, and it makes a sweet snack. You really have to cook out all the liquid, or else it will turn out almost soggy(that is how I cooked mine. I won't make that mistake next time.) It is very easy to make, so I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Good alternative to plain old nutss. I followed the directions exactly but still cae out with a too soupy syrup. Even after cooling the nuts remained too stickey. Liked the flavor although would have prefered less cinnamon. Won't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
i had the munchies and didnt have any regulard baking ingredients so i made these.... yowzzzaaa. these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meat baby
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are pretty good. I followed the other reviewers advice and cooked the almonds in the sugar mixture until almost all the liquid was evaporated, but I could have cooked them a little less and been fine. If I make them again, I will wait to add the almonds until the syrup has reduced signficantly, as cooking the almonds in the syrup for that long gave them a slightly weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Easy and very simple to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a wonderful candied nut recipe. I doubled the batch and dusted half of the almonds with powdered sugar at the end after they were separated. I got rave reviews on both but everyone leaned toward the powdered sugar coated ones saying they were a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Make sure you read the other reviews and let all the liquid evaporate. There is a fine line of when there is none and when there is.... you will know when to take them off. Also... make sure you use Roasted almonds... not blanched (Like I did). They tasted good, but were not crunchy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Took this one a little too far and burned everything when I followed a reviewer suggestion that this would take 30 minutes. Around 15 minutes in, as suggested in the recipe, the sugar crystallized but then it began to melt again before all the liquid was gone and everything went wrong right about the time I began to second guess myself. Otherwise, my house smells terrific. I will gather myself and try this again as a snack for my son's birthday party since the pan escapees from the point of crystallization are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States