Candied Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
First I tried making these without reading the reviews.... I ended up with a sticky syruppy mess..... I put the nuts back in the pan and kept cooking until literally all the liquid and stringy-ness is gone. They should look dry when they are done. It takes awhile.... but just keep stirring until they are dry. I am using these in a pear arugala sald with chedder, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Oh, bliss! I have an absolute thing about candied nuts so finding this recipe was the best surprise of the weekend! I found all the reviews really helpful. I would add this - you can tell when all the water is evaporated because the syrup starts getting gritty looking around the edge of the pan first, and then the syrup on the nuts suddenly stops looking all glossy and also starts looking gritty/crystallised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
OMG! They taste just like the ones at the fair! I used Dry Roasted - Unsalted Almonds and Organic Sugar, both from Trader Joe's and Fresh&Easy ground cinnamon(it's what I had in the pantry). I'm glad I read the reviews to let the water evaporate. That's a great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used Splenda instead of sugar. Sometimes that works out fine, but is just so so in this case. I'm not sure if I cooked it long enough. I'll try again later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is a great recipe, very easy, just let all the liquid evaporate as instructed. Now, the comment on the Splenda version was mostly wrong. I say mostly because there is a trick to it. After boiling until all of the liquid is gone, spread on a cookie sheet with parchment paper and put in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. Its done. This dries the nuts out so that the coating can harden up. They are great. Not quite as good as the real sugar version but much healthier. Also, try the original recipe with pecans and put them over a good brownie with vanilla ice cream and chocolate/caramel syrup. The nuts add flavor and texture that really makes an outstanding desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misty W
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I did it with walnuts and didn't cook it quite long enough but they were still pretty good! Today I used pecans, a tiny bit less water and sugar and cinnamon and added a pinch of ginger! Awesome! ( I was doubling the recipe and that's why I cut back a bit). Thanks for this easy wonderful recipe!! It is important to cook them till almost ALL liquid is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The best recipe for candied almonds. My only suggestions are to use either parchment paper or grease a pan it will be easier to break them apart. If you use wax paper put in the microwave to loosen from it. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Would have been delicious if I had not followed one user that said to cook for 30 mins. DO NOT DO THIS. It will burn them. Just cook until there is no liquid. If you cook too long it will get soupy and burn the almonds. Would have been delicious if not for burnt almonds. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
You cannot go wrong with these yummy treats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Reese Nagel
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
So delicious! Follow the other reviews, cook until ALL water has evaporated! The recipe made me think I had to take it off sooner. I waited though and it became a thick syrup and when the almonds started clumping together, rather than settling right away into the pan like when it was soupy, I knew it was done. BIG HIT!! Very easy, will make again. I think I would roast the almonds next time, prior to putting them in the pot with the sugar. This would bring more flavor and a better crunch. Maybe I would even broil them for a minute or two after they have the sugar coating to provide extra crunch too. Either way, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

All about Almonds

Discover all you can do with healthy, delicious almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States