Candied Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly. Just like mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious! It was sweeter than I expected Maybe I'll make it a dessert next time!I added craisins like some people suggested, which added a nice texture. My little 22 month old son loved eating it with me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
added a bit of ginger and cinnamon in the cooking process and topped with cranberries and roasted pecans. Wonderful addition to Pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
ate as a dessert. Added some chopped pecans, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
If you're looking for a simple squash recipe, this is it. I would advise stirring in another tablespoon or two of brown sugar when you mash everything together in the bowl - and I'd increase the time frmo 10 minutes to more like 12. Finally, instead of mashing the squash in a bowl after cooking, I'd do the mashing in a small square pan - it's easier to mash things together than in a bowl. Then sprinkle some more brown sugar on the top and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was quick and easy! Looked great, too. I added dried cranberries and walnuts and served @ Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was a standard when I was growing up...especially the year my mom planted acorn squash and we had kind of a glut on it. We always liked it. She would usually put some orange juice into them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Beer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Mom used to make these all the time. I am not a fan of Microwave ovens, as I believe they destroy the nutritional values of food, so I prefer baking them in the oven or on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice Yoder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a basic, solid recipe for acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I served this as dessert after a light lunch to company. Everyone loved it! It is perfect as written but I added a few Craisins and chopped walnuts before serving just for color and texture. Excellent. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States