Candied Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I followed the directions exactly and it turned out perfectly. Just like mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious! It was sweeter than I expected Maybe I'll make it a dessert next time!I added craisins like some people suggested, which added a nice texture. My little 22 month old son loved eating it with me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
added a bit of ginger and cinnamon in the cooking process and topped with cranberries and roasted pecans. Wonderful addition to Pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
ate as a dessert. Added some chopped pecans, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
If you're looking for a simple squash recipe, this is it. I would advise stirring in another tablespoon or two of brown sugar when you mash everything together in the bowl - and I'd increase the time frmo 10 minutes to more like 12. Finally, instead of mashing the squash in a bowl after cooking, I'd do the mashing in a small square pan - it's easier to mash things together than in a bowl. Then sprinkle some more brown sugar on the top and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was quick and easy! Looked great, too. I added dried cranberries and walnuts and served @ Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was a standard when I was growing up...especially the year my mom planted acorn squash and we had kind of a glut on it. We always liked it. She would usually put some orange juice into them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Mom used to make these all the time. I am not a fan of Microwave ovens, as I believe they destroy the nutritional values of food, so I prefer baking them in the oven or on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice Yoder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a basic, solid recipe for acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I served this as dessert after a light lunch to company. Everyone loved it! It is perfect as written but I added a few Craisins and chopped walnuts before serving just for color and texture. Excellent. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States