Canadian Yellow Split Pea Soup with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I had a ham hock, but used exacts for the rest of the recipe. A lot of promise here if you omit the salt like some have suggested. If you don't...well...gross. I need a drink after every bite. This is probably a five star without the salt as it is the perfect consistency and everything smelled great. However, I'm one who rates the recipe as written (isn't that the point?). The salt ruins the soup! Also, I only needed 2.5 hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
Very good. My son preferred this over my green split pea soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Mixon Moreau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Excellent as written. When I am lazy I use 3 cans Campbell's French Canadian Pea soup and dilute with my ham stock...otherwise I use the same Veg and herbs as in this grand recipe.. omit salt. Boil ham bone for an hour or more with a few roughly cut pieces of onion and celery [garlic if u like] strain broth and use as a concentrated flavor base. use leftover ham chopped and add with veg. I don't saute the meat and veg..cuts down fat. Simmer it all till veg is tender. Takes half the time as the channyharte terrific recipe. Mom used to make it this way to feed kids quicker...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Made exactly as written until the end...I like it a little bit thinner so I added more water throughout and at the end. Flavor was still great! I had never used the yellow split peas before and I think it's pretty similar to green but I may not eat them enough to notice a difference. Either way it's enjoyable and I will make this again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Put in less split peas, more ham and veggies and added some "better than broth" chicken soup base. Very yummy. My son-in-law said it was better than his French-Canadian grandmother's soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My parents were both French Canadians and my mother always made pea soup with the yellow peas. She always said they're sweeter than using green split peas, I agree. I've made this soup in the same way for years whenever I've had a ham bone left over from a holiday. The only difference between my recipe and this one is that I use sweet basil instead of thyme. This is a hearty and satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Here

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is exactly how I remember split pea and ham soup. Very French and extremely delicious! I agree, you don't need to add salt - the ham is salty enough. I also add a few cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy to make and fantastic taste. Used a ham bone from one that we cooked on the smoker. The flavor is unbelievable. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Excellent. Added a big pinch of lemon thyme as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a very old recipe that they use in Quebec during the maple syrup season.If you visit one of their sugar shacks during the spring this will be on the menu. My husband's grandmother who is Quebeciose had this recipe from her great grandmother who lived during the 1800's. I would omit the salt becuase it is too strong with the ham bone and I had a packet of chicken stock to my soup but it's good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States