Canadian Yellow Split Pea Soup with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Excellent old fashioned recipe! I left the ham bone in during the cooking process to enhance the flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Julien

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Excellent taste. Even the kids liked it. Wouldn't add salt as the ham adds the salt flavour. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Ah, it's been a long time since I've found a true 5-star recipe. This was very, very good. I was looking for something close to Habitant Pea soup - this was much better, more like what 'ma mere' makes. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a very old recipe that they use in Quebec during the maple syrup season.If you visit one of their sugar shacks during the spring this will be on the menu. My husband's grandmother who is Quebeciose had this recipe from her great grandmother who lived during the 1800's. I would omit the salt becuase it is too strong with the ham bone and I had a packet of chicken stock to my soup but it's good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
First time I ever made it,was just delicious....we all loved it ....will keep making this ..so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
should be very good. Is similar to the old stand by from my long dead grandmother. I usually add some garlic, bay leaf, and a bit of oregano. sometimes a cube of chicken bouillon. If you sauté the onions and other veg before adding the peas, you can reduce the time by using a pressure cooker for 15 minutes after bringing pot up to 15 pounds of pressure (high) for twelve minutes, and allow pressure to reduce slowly. If the peas are old, you ay need to put pot back on and cook a little longer, but as pot is hot, it wont take long to return to pressure. All in all, however you make it, nothing beats split pea soup on a cold Canadian winter's day. tomorrow I hear, should reach a high of minus 27 C. soup will be on the stove or in the pressure cooker to save electricity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clayton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This is basically how I have always made it. Excellent, healthy soup. I leave out the celery as I don't care for the flavor, just a personal preference. My biggest problem always is finding yellow split peas. The stores in my area seldom have them on the shelf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great flavor. As long as you use the ham, you can leave the salt out totally. The ham adds flavor and salt all on its own. Used an immersion blender to finish off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States