Canadian Shortbread 'Eh' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made this recipe for the residents of the nursing home where I work as a treat to go along with a travel video about Canada. This was one of the easiest and tastiest cookies I have ever made. I had little maple leaf cookie cutters and made some in the small size, then switched to a round cutter and just made a maple left impression on the top of each cookiel. They came out so cute. The trick is to take the cookies out of the oven at exactly 20 minutes. Otherwise they will get too crispy when they cool. The residents loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
i give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAKURAKAT
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I just finished making these about 20 minutes ago - they turned out really great! I did mess with the recipe a bit, though - I was going to try to make them a bit lighter, like my mom's whipped shortbread, then put it through the cookie press. I thought I'd do that by creaming the butter, sugar, and syrup together, and then sifting in the flour a little at a time, and then whipping the dough. I didn't end up using the cookie press - the first two sheets got rolled into balls, then flattened. They turned out well, but then my mom suggested I add jam. I rolled the dough into balls, made and indent with my finger, then added jam into the indent, turning them into a type of thumb-print cookie. They turned out really well! Strawberry jam goes really well with the maple shortbread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAKURAKAT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Excellent cookies!! I made these for a friend who is a shortbread fanatic and I also made traditional Scottish shortbread. These were gone long before the traditional ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
These were delicious. I cut them out with a maple leaf cookie cutter and colored the dough with orange, gold and burgundy food colors to look like fall leaves. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
this recipe is just like my moms could not any any better than this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I tried this recipe again and made a few changes. I added 1/2 tsp. of maple extract to the maple syrup to add taste. Then, when the cookies were almost cooled, I glazed them with a mixture of sifted icing sugar, milk and maple extract. Use the back of a spoon to spread over cookie, then let set. These turned out wonderful! I cut them in the shape of maple leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I cut them into little maple leaf shapes, and was going to take a picture, but then my family ate them all up before I could. They didn't even last three days in the house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Meyers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deferiet, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I make these quite often (they retain shapes nicly). They're also handy (sturdy) when you have to send goodies in the mail. Great flavor and nice texture (I tend to underbake these slightly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very delicious! I liked the hint of maple (I added a little extra syrup) and the crispy texture. Enjoyed by everyone who tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States