Canadian Shortbread 'Eh' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I made this but used almost double the brown sugar. I also cooked in a 9x13 pan for more like 30 min then cut into bars while warm and boy is this good! Especially if you like brown sugar! It ends up nice and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I make these quite often (they retain shapes nicly). They're also handy (sturdy) when you have to send goodies in the mail. Great flavor and nice texture (I tend to underbake these slightly).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I tried this recipe again and made a few changes. I added 1/2 tsp. of maple extract to the maple syrup to add taste. Then, when the cookies were almost cooled, I glazed them with a mixture of sifted icing sugar, milk and maple extract. Use the back of a spoon to spread over cookie, then let set. These turned out wonderful! I cut them in the shape of maple leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
Nice hint of maple flavour. Just watch that you don't bake too long - they get rather hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very delicious! I liked the hint of maple (I added a little extra syrup) and the crispy texture. Enjoyed by everyone who tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Will not make again. The cookies weren't very flavorful and were too crisp for my taste. I much prefer traditional shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I ended up cutting the recipe in half with the exception of the brown sugar and the maple syrup i added about a 1/4 cup maple syrup and 1 cup of brown sugar. I also rolled it out to a half inch on a cookie sheet and cut it into bars which turned out nice and chewy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
These were delicious. I cut them out with a maple leaf cookie cutter and colored the dough with orange, gold and burgundy food colors to look like fall leaves. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
This recipe is very easy to make with children and they enjoy using cookie cutters to cut out various Christmas shapes, however, the baked cookies are very greasy tasting and crisper than regular shortbread. I would not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Reading the other reviews, I must have made this wrong. My cookies spread like crazy, which is a shame since we were trying to make decorated sugar cookies. I did double the recipe; perhaps this one's not good for that. They are delicious, however, so I give them a 5 for taste but a 2 otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States