Canadian Shortbread 'Eh' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Any cookie recipe I always double and boy am I glad I did.They are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe. Just the right amount of maple flavor. I made them with a Maple leaf cookie cutter. Looked great! I am going to make them for my son's wedding in Muskoka next summer, to put in little gift bags in the guests rooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Too much butter!!! They came out a little too thin & hard for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Sorry, not often I write negative reviews but these are definitely not shortbreads. Perhaps they should be called maple cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAKURAKAT
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I just finished making these about 20 minutes ago - they turned out really great! I did mess with the recipe a bit, though - I was going to try to make them a bit lighter, like my mom's whipped shortbread, then put it through the cookie press. I thought I'd do that by creaming the butter, sugar, and syrup together, and then sifting in the flour a little at a time, and then whipping the dough. I didn't end up using the cookie press - the first two sheets got rolled into balls, then flattened. They turned out well, but then my mom suggested I add jam. I rolled the dough into balls, made and indent with my finger, then added jam into the indent, turning them into a type of thumb-print cookie. They turned out really well! Strawberry jam goes really well with the maple shortbread dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAKURAKAT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was my first attempt at making shortbread and I don't think I will use this recipe again. Mine look beautiful, but they mostly just taste like flour. I think 4 1/2 cups of flour is far too much and 1 1/2 is not enough sugar. Also, 1/2 inch thick at 20 minutes doesn't cook all the way through. I think this recipe needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
i give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made this recipe for the residents of the nursing home where I work as a treat to go along with a travel video about Canada. This was one of the easiest and tastiest cookies I have ever made. I had little maple leaf cookie cutters and made some in the small size, then switched to a round cutter and just made a maple left impression on the top of each cookiel. They came out so cute. The trick is to take the cookies out of the oven at exactly 20 minutes. Otherwise they will get too crispy when they cool. The residents loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Just cooked a batch of these cookies for a Canadian event. I rolled them 1/4 inch thick and they turned out lovely. Some I did roll a bit thinner and they turned out crispier. I did add 1/2 cup of real maple syrup (to make sure the flavour came through) and the taste was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Reading the other reviews, I must have made this wrong. My cookies spread like crazy, which is a shame since we were trying to make decorated sugar cookies. I did double the recipe; perhaps this one's not good for that. They are delicious, however, so I give them a 5 for taste but a 2 otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States