Canadian Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I am not an intuitive cook, so follow new recipes exactly. We like the rich molasses taste, that's why I made molasses cookies. The only thing missing was the cook time - I settled on 11 minutes. We noticed a mellowing of flavor, and sweetness, on the second day. I cooked one batch on a greased cookie sheet, one on a cookie sheet lined with parchment - the parchment yielded soft puffy cookies, the others spread out thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
Loved it! Tastes a lot like a big chewy ginger snap. Some tips: for best results, don't overcook; cooks like a dream on Silpat baking sheets (well worth the investment) or a well-greased cookie sheet; they MUST cool for 5 minutes on the sheet--don't rush this! I highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
I just made a batch of these wonderful cookies. I could not believe how easy it was and how great the cookies tasted. I mixed everything together in one bowl - they are a little sticky though. I only had to bake mine for 8 minutes. Be sure to let them cool for at least 5 minutes on the cookie sheet. I can't wait to make another batch!!! Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2001
I used half whole wheat flour, half white flour, threw in a cup of raisins, and some extra ginger, plus a little bit of vanilla extract and underbaked them slightly with superb results- they were deliciously crisp on the edges and satisfyingly chewy towards the middle- a bit too sweet overall, perhaps next time I will try to cut the brown sugar by 1/4 cup and substitute a bit of flour and honey, or perhaps try it with applesauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I used 1/2 tablespoon fresh (well, frozen fresh then dethawed) minced ginger root and mixed that right in the wet mixutre, cut the brown sugar by 1/4 c as some others recomended, increased the flour to 2.5 c (subbing 1 c whole wheat flour), guessed at less than the recipe calls for in salt, used a glass baking pan greased with olive oil and used only one bowl! These are great! I undercooked the first batch because they were too big, but you know what? They were still good! I rolled one of the first batch up and dipped it in milk, it was like some kind of heavenly candy bar! I may experiment with the cooking times on this recipe to see what I like best, and I encourage you to do so as well. Also only use a full half tablespoon of ginger root if you are a big fan of ginger, my husband still likes them but he said he'd use less ginger. I can't wait to serve some to my maritimer father-in-law tommorrow, as he is a fan of molasses cookies and these are similar to the bakery recipe he likes so much. ADDED LATER: Oh my goodness! Definately use parchment paper to cook them! Easier to clean up and bakes them up so much lighter and fluffy. Still have the crunchy edges with the chewy middles. I deifinately give this recipe 6 stars with the parchment paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I was very skeptical when I read this recipe, and I decided to use up the little bit of molasses I had and give it a try. Molasses cookies are my husbands favorite! These are AWESOME! Simple, easy and very tasteful. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! A new favorite for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
This recipe was simple to make. I made it all in one bowl and didn't even have to use a mixer. I was worried about it being too strong after I read the reviews, so I used 1/4 cup of honey and 3/4 cup of molasses. I also rolled the dough into balls and rolled it in sugar. They turned out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Very good cookie but a bit on the sweet side. I've had good results with lowering the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Sticky? Yes. Very strong molasses flavor? Yes. Lacking 'oomph'? Yes. I found these cookies uninspiring and would never make them for guests. I felt as though I was eating spoonfuls of molasses. Even though I'm a health-conscious eater, I'd rather walk off the butter calories from a good cookie than eat these. If you do decide to make these, I'd suggest an extra dash of salt and a 1/4 tsp. ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
These cookies are very soft and a bit sticky. They taste great and are very easy to make. The one bit of advise I would give though is to make sure your cookie sheet is well greased. Since they don't have any butter in them they have a tendancy to stick. I baked them for 15 minutes although oven temperatures may change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States