Canadian Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I love to make these cookies. I like to make as normal and roll them in sugar before baking. They are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I used 1/2 tablespoon fresh (well, frozen fresh then dethawed) minced ginger root and mixed that right in the wet mixutre, cut the brown sugar by 1/4 c as some others recomended, increased the flour to 2.5 c (subbing 1 c whole wheat flour), guessed at less than the recipe calls for in salt, used a glass baking pan greased with olive oil and used only one bowl! These are great! I undercooked the first batch because they were too big, but you know what? They were still good! I rolled one of the first batch up and dipped it in milk, it was like some kind of heavenly candy bar! I may experiment with the cooking times on this recipe to see what I like best, and I encourage you to do so as well. Also only use a full half tablespoon of ginger root if you are a big fan of ginger, my husband still likes them but he said he'd use less ginger. I can't wait to serve some to my maritimer father-in-law tommorrow, as he is a fan of molasses cookies and these are similar to the bakery recipe he likes so much. ADDED LATER: Oh my goodness! Definately use parchment paper to cook them! Easier to clean up and bakes them up so much lighter and fluffy. Still have the crunchy edges with the chewy middles. I deifinately give this recipe 6 stars with the parchment paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
THEY WAS HARD ON THE OUTSIDE AND RAW ON THE INSIDE! THEY LOOKED GOOD, BUT WAS AWFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I thought this was an interesting recipe. I actually got caught not knowing how much molasses I had on hand and being out of ginger. I wound up going half molasses half honey and using cinnamon and allspice instead of ginger. Pretty good. I look forward to making this as written since my version lacks some of the "burn" of the ginger. Give it a try if you're looking to cut saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I am not an intuitive cook, so follow new recipes exactly. We like the rich molasses taste, that's why I made molasses cookies. The only thing missing was the cook time - I settled on 11 minutes. We noticed a mellowing of flavor, and sweetness, on the second day. I cooked one batch on a greased cookie sheet, one on a cookie sheet lined with parchment - the parchment yielded soft puffy cookies, the others spread out thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Ya they tasted extreamly like moleasses but they had no life to them & were VERY unattractive, pulling them apart was almost impossible... I cannot believe that Canada's name is on them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAJOY74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angus, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
Absolutely delicious! Thanks to reading the reviews, I used 3/4 c molasses, 1/4 cup honey and greased the sheets well. I also sprinkled the tops with granulated sugar before baking. Turned out wonderful - a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
My family and I loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
These cookies are pretty good, but for best results let them sit for at least 1 hour before you serve them. Right out of the oven they don't taste so hot. DEFINATLY go get some parchment paper to put on your cookie sheets, 'cos these are sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Sticky? Yes. Very strong molasses flavor? Yes. Lacking 'oomph'? Yes. I found these cookies uninspiring and would never make them for guests. I felt as though I was eating spoonfuls of molasses. Even though I'm a health-conscious eater, I'd rather walk off the butter calories from a good cookie than eat these. If you do decide to make these, I'd suggest an extra dash of salt and a 1/4 tsp. ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States