Canadian Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
i changed it a little. i had only 1/2 cup brown sugar so that's what i used and it was perfect. i used part whole wheat flour and added 2 T ground flaxseed so mine weren't totally fat free. i made them big. heaping tablespoons and 15 minutes was perfect for baking time. flavor is excellent and they make great ice cream sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I followed the rec. & they came out so flat?? Can't figure out where I went wrong??? But they tasted good anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbrty828

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These cookies were ok but were neither the taste nor the texture I was looking for. As a Canadian, from Nova Scotia, I think you should rename these PEI Molasses cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These cookies turned out really well. Nice and moist and chewy with a distinct molasses flavour. Would have given it five stars but non of the kids would eat it. Found out (through this recipe) that they're not great fans of the molasses flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
made as said and they were very flat - not at all like the picture. They also stuck like crazy even on parchment paper. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These are delicious, if you like a strong molasses taste. I did add more like 2 1/2 cups of flour, the dough was very sticky. Refrigerating it might help with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
These cookies were all right. I added fresh grated ginger and liked the taste. Other than that, I found that my cookies spread out to be thin and really chewy even though I baked them on parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Quick, easy and very tasty! Very nice with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
i used the parchment paper as someone suggested and that worked best. crunchy on the outside and gooey on the inside. nice and spicey! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great cookies! But I'd like to share a bit of advice for those beginners among us: there's no time specified for cooking time, just until the cookies 'turn brown'. I'm glad I made a full batch of dough because my first try came out very flat and very crispy! So the second round I started watching the cookies at 4 minutes (which was pretty cool, I could see the dough bubble up then collapse in on itself. Yes, I am a nerd), and by 5 or 6 minutes I could tell they were done! Especially since they have to sit 5 minutes on the hot pan afterwards. But they turn out great this way! I'd recommend watching carefully the first couple of batches to see what amount of time works best for your oven, but for me it was 6 minutes, tops. Delicious cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States