Canadian Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by 2ys4you
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These were really great! Super chewy! I used real ginger and they are quite spicy but so yummy. They're just like Gramdma Molases candies you get at Halloween here in Quebec. The same brand makes a cookie as well. These ones were WAY better than the packaged ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is suprisingly good! I added in the extra baking powder and baked about 8 minutes. They turned out flat, but soft inside with a crunchy top that is actually pretty fabulous. A little sweet, yes, a lttle sticky, yes but not overly so, and the flavour was great. As a Canadian I'm proud to have this recipe in my book! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I found this recipe when I was looking for a cookie that didn't need butter. I love gingerbread so I decided to try it. I like them! Not sure why mine aren't sticky like so many others said. Mine came out soft and chewy and tasted pretty good, albeit a bit too strong of a ginger flavor. Hoping next-day-flavor will be more mellow like others say! Would definitely be great with a bowl of ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
These are pretty good,a lot better than I thought they'd be.I'll make these again but next time I'll use ginger root,thanks Melissa for the idea.And thanks to Manny for the recipe.As for some of the comments about these being sticky....I just greased my cookie sheet with margarine and the cookies came off with no problem.Parchment would work but why bother if they're not sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I love these cookies as they have no butter Yay!! I was skeptical that these would turn out as I used brown sugar splenda but they turned out awesome. I will warn you to not overbake these. I pulled mine out as soon as they were just starting to look cooked they appeared they may need to cook longer but I let them cool on the cookie sheet and they were chewy and moist. Next time I'm going to try candied ginger and will dip them in melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Ok, if I were to rate these things as cookies, they would only be getting one star. These do not even remotely resemble a molasses cookie, the texture is all wrong. If, however I were to rate them as a molasses-y caramelized sugar confection to be used as a garnish, these are alright. They have a nice molasses and ginger flavor. They are crispy (like burnt sugar) on the edges and the middles resemble a nougat texture. Again, in my opinion these are NOT cookies, but would serve fairly well as an ice cream garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah W
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a great low/no fat cookie! I did like others suggested and rolled the dough in sugar then flattened slightly on the cookie sheet before baking for about 8 minutes. I found the ginger a little too strong (my kids said 'way too spicy!), so next time I will use less ginger and maybe experiment with other spices, such as a little cinnamon and nutmeg. Overall, they stay moist for a good week and they do mellow in flavor after the first day. Don't judge them on the first day flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Sticky but really good. I rolled mine to get nice flat shapes. They were appreciated by all and will make again. Only other change was I like lots of ginger so I at least doubled that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLCOPP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This recipe is tricky. I own a local cookie company and was looking for something new. Stumbled on this...be careful! First time I made this I was not pleased, but wanted to try again. Add baking powder and save your cookies. About a teaspoon along with the soda. If you don't you will end up with a VERY FLAT cookie. Candy-like. Also USE CIDER VINEGAR! Good luck! My cookies have varied from batch to batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but my cookies turned out pretty much the opposite of "too sweet," as other reviewers said they were. These had a VERY strong molasses taste -- definitely needed to be buried under some vanilla ice cream or something (too bad I don't have any!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States