Canadian Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
As a Canadian I have NEVER heard these called "Canadian Doughnuts" -- they are BEAVER TAILS (or Whale Tails for the places that rip off the Beaver Tails company). This is OK, but there is a more authentic recipe in this site called "Beaver Tails from a real Canadian". Like the original from Ottawa that recipe uses only whole wheat flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
PLEASE! Although they are LIKE doughnuts, these are called: "Beaver Tails", not "Canadian Doughnuts"! I'm from Ottawa, and my favourite is indeed the Killaloe Sunrise (fresh lemon juice squirted over a generous sprinkling of sugar & cinnamon on the Beaver Tail). That with a cup of hot chocolate after skating five miles on the Ottawa Canal, on a cold February day, is pure satisfaction. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
The first time I have this doughnuts was in a farm fair in Ancaster. They called it "Elephant Ears", a French Canadian friend told me that they usually call it "Beaver Tails". Anyways, I found this bread tastes really great, crispy outside and soft & chewy inside. So I looked for the recipe here and tried to make it at my own kitchen. This recipe is good! Exactly the same thing that I had in the Fair! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Just like I use to have as a child.. wonderful a variation on a recipe my Grandmother used..She was from Ireland and then moved to Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
These are delicious - brought back fond memories of a skiing holiday in the Rockies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were good since I don't have any whole wheat flour i used normal flour they were awesome, but needed a little more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Yummy ... we call these mini elephant ears on the west coast. My girlfriend, who is one, calls them Mormon Scones. Whatever they're called...they are deeeelicious!!! Shortcut...use Rhodes Frozen rolls and save a ton of time. Simply thaw on a cookie sheet, roll out & fry'em up. My 5 g'kids will eat 3 dz. faster than I can get them sugared & cinnamoned. I toss them in a brown paper sack with sugar & cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
they are excellent! we are going to use them for many diffrent dish ideas. easy to make to. i cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent! I made these when I had lots of kids over and these doughnuts went so fast! I now get requests from these kids from time to time!! I didn't use the lemon though. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sooo good, kids loved them! Light and fluffy, full of taste. Lemon juice adds a nice zip to them. I tested the amount on the first doughnut, remember a little goes a long way. Add a small amount until you get the amount that is right for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States