Canadian Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Thanks for the recipe!! It didn't turn out exactly like the ones bought from the Ottawa canal but they were still pretty good!! This recipe is sooooo close to my Grandmothers, just the smell of them brings back memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Me, my Thai wife and our little girl, all liked this, so quite a triumph. I prepared using a bread machine, maybe next time I would add something a little spicier. We sliced them in half, put in some jam and ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Eating-wise, try them topped with maple butter and melted chocolate. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prochef@home

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Oh my god they are so good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherburne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The doughnut itself was to chewy and soft in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Not a bad creation. Certainly yummy, but definitely not like our Canadian "Beaver Tails." Just a tidbit of interesting information, in Hungarian, these delicious treats would be called Langos. A Hungarian food speciality, a deep fried flat bread made of a dough with flour, yeast, salt and water. At many fairs there is a booth that sells Elephant Ears and they use a tradional recipe as well because most of those booths are operated by a Hungarian owner or a member of the Hungarian dance troops. Hey, just food for thought! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
you do actually need the lemond juice, we also substituted the 4 cups of whole wheat flour for 4 cups of all-purpos flour so there was not any gunk left in the oil,we put a vanilla glaze on some of them also; its icing sugar water and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
These were good since I don't have any whole wheat flour i used normal flour they were awesome, but needed a little more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Yummy ... we call these mini elephant ears on the west coast. My girlfriend, who is one, calls them Mormon Scones. Whatever they're called...they are deeeelicious!!! Shortcut...use Rhodes Frozen rolls and save a ton of time. Simply thaw on a cookie sheet, roll out & fry'em up. My 5 g'kids will eat 3 dz. faster than I can get them sugared & cinnamoned. I toss them in a brown paper sack with sugar & cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sooo good, kids loved them! Light and fluffy, full of taste. Lemon juice adds a nice zip to them. I tested the amount on the first doughnut, remember a little goes a long way. Add a small amount until you get the amount that is right for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States