Canadian Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
More like a baby Beaver Tail, but still a lot of fun to make. Makes me will winter though......sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Callie
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The recipe was nice, although I found the lemon juice gave an unwanted bitter taste. It's just my opinion though - some might like the extra zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
they are excellent! we are going to use them for many diffrent dish ideas. easy to make to. i cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I tried this one but not the other one yet. It makes a lot of Beaver tails ... regardless of what it is called. (In Ottawa it is called Beaver Tails) It is good but I find that making it the size of Beaver tails is hard to do at home. I make mine smaller (about 8inches long and 4 inches wide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
These are good and VERY easy. I make half the recipe and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar but haven't tried the lemon juice. They usually puff up and are hollow when fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Great but I've had better! The whole wheat adds more sweetness to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Excellent! I made these when I had lots of kids over and these doughnuts went so fast! I now get requests from these kids from time to time!! I didn't use the lemon though. Thanks for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
As a Canadian I have NEVER heard these called "Canadian Doughnuts" -- they are BEAVER TAILS (or Whale Tails for the places that rip off the Beaver Tails company). This is OK, but there is a more authentic recipe in this site called "Beaver Tails from a real Canadian". Like the original from Ottawa that recipe uses only whole wheat flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Just like I use to have as a child.. wonderful a variation on a recipe my Grandmother used..She was from Ireland and then moved to Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2000
The first time I have this doughnuts was in a farm fair in Ancaster. They called it "Elephant Ears", a French Canadian friend told me that they usually call it "Beaver Tails". Anyways, I found this bread tastes really great, crispy outside and soft & chewy inside. So I looked for the recipe here and tried to make it at my own kitchen. This recipe is good! Exactly the same thing that I had in the Fair! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States