Canadian Cedar Planked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Salmon grilled like this is the BEST! I've cooked this a number of times. As per recommendation of other user, I squeeze the lemon on top instead of placing actual lemon slices (for more even cooking of the salmon). I've also sprinkled onion powder over the salmon instead of sliced onion and it still turned out amazing. Also, I brush the plank with Olive Oil as well (it seems to reduce flare ups). AND.....my biggest tip would be to only preheat the plank for the amount of time suggested in recipe, no longer. The first time I did this, I threw the plank on and came back into the house to do some things, went back to put the salmon on and it was on fire! I guess I preheated it a bit too long. I was having a dinner party of 8 at the time.....but, believe it or not, it still came out great grilled on the completely charred plank and all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Easy and tasty. Only soaked the cedar for two hours and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nuclear Rich
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Amazing, easy gourmet meal. The smoked flavor along with the peppercorn was delicious. For the cedar plank: I spoke with a lumber yard owner, and was told the following: cedar is untreated as a whole, since it is quite a dense wood and doesnt require chemical treatment for carpentry. My plank was not heartwood (center of tree), so it was not quite so dense (great for soaking water). Also, it was not planed (pretty rough), and I think that caused it to ignite more often. Totally controllable, just keep the lid on and it doesn't feed the wood with enough oxygen to create a blaze. Basically, a cheap plank from a lumber yard did the trick! I also found that the lemon slices on top of the salmon while it cooked caused it to absorb some heat, making the salmon less cooked under the areas. I would recommend squeezing the juice onto it for cooking, then adding slices for serving. Served with steamed spinach, rice, and wine. I prefer red wine entirely, so I paired the salmon with a sweet pinot noir. The smokey, peppercorn flavor along with the spinach really brought out the light, sweet flavors of the wine. This is one for the index cards!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuclear Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
My husband made this - it was OK but kinda bland. Maybe we needed more spice. Easy and simple recipe though, worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie 2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by worre
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This a great basic recipe to use as a baseline, especially if you've been out fishing the majority of the day. I prefer to substitute the Olive Oil with a high quality garlicky vinaigrette containing all natural ingredients. I've found, depending on the size of the fillet (cooking time), that a plank (Red Cedar) soaked anywhere between two to four hours is suitable for the job. I also like to sprinkle some Kosher salt (or Hawaiian red salt) on a lightly oiled (Olive Oil) plank before topping it off with the fillet skin side down. This followed up with some small slices of onion (I prefer Sweet, but use what you like) and a few slices of lemon provides not only an exquisite taste but a very impressive presentation. The fresher the fish the better, the picture I've provided was of a Western Washington Coho caught, filleted, put on ice in a container (stored in the refrigerator, drain the water as the ice melts occasionally to avoid letting the fillet to soak up water) and planked the same day. No matter how long you've soaked the plank I'd suggest you always keep a squirt bottle containing water to eliminate any flare ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by worre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
We enjoyed this better than regular salmon on the grill. The flavor was a little more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I could taste a smokey flavor, but thought that regular salmon right on the grill was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This is terrific and delicious. My guests were so impressed. Very easy and the smoky taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Also very good without the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States