Canadian Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
These were excellent! However I added about a 1/4 cup of flour to the tart mixture and they turned out delicious! For sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Great pastry recipe for these tarts. Unfortunately I am disappointed to see a Canadian butter tart recipe with coconut. Have lived in Canada many years and made a lot of these tarts but never with coconut. The tart filling is great and should be no problem if directions are followed. Maybe I missed the ones with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I made these in the mini muffin tin and they didn't really turn out. They were not runny and were too sweet. I'm thinking that it's probably because they were too small so I'll try them again as a regular size and see what happens. The dough was good and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I used the English butter tarts filling (Fantastic) but used this recipe for the shells. Even thought the tarts shells were flaky, I found the tart shells had a strong taste of shortening and the amount recommended to be used needs to be reduced. The tart shells recipe would be much better for a pie shell than a butter tart shell. Will look for another tart shell recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
"waist expanding goodness" was how my husband described it. Very easy to make I thought, and the only thing different I did was to use Pecans instead of walnuts, a personal prefrence of my husbands. I also forgot to put the raisins in first, so I stirred them into the tarts instead. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
My spouse and I found the pastry kind of dense and not at all sweet. The filling was okay, but did not taste like a butter tart filling. I was hoping for a sweet, flakey crust, and a runny, buttery filling, but got neither.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
So good, so easy! I use toasted pecans instead of walnuts!!Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
As a canadian living abroad am always looking for a recipe from home. I tried this twice, the first time with the nuts and coconut, it was nice but hubby didn't like it. so I tried again without nuts and coconut or raisins and I found the filling is like water even after the crust is cooked. so think next time if I do not use nuts or anything will maybe eliminate the hot water stage. If someone has any other ideas why so runny and how to stiffen it up a bit please let me know. I sometimes have to use different ingredients I find the brown sugar in this country if finer and does not have as much molasses in it as canadian brown sugar, so maybe that is the diff as I used canadian brown sugar the first batch..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
My man thought these were excellent and I am proud they are Canadian! The toasted coconut and walnuts add a nice flavor and the pastry was flaky and perfect. I LOVE butter tarts. Definately give this one a try! Update: Cdnshaz...try adding another egg and leave out the hot water or mix the filling in a saucepan over low-med heat to the consistency you want. Holly...you must have over cooked these tarts or over worked your pastry. I think this recipie is perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
Simply divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANSTAR_THE_ROCKSTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States