Canadian Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JillK
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These are to die for!!!! Watch out - I've made 2 batches in two days......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Sweet and delicious. The coconut and walnuts add a but of crunchiness to the filling. Best butter tart recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Not quite the butter tart I was expecting, but still good. I used my own pastry recipe as I thought this one was a little heavy on the shortening for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
The best most crumbley crust ever! I will be using the tart crust recipe for all my tartlets this holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbits

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These tarts were so easy to make!! I was unsure about adding the coconut but they turned out awesome...thanks for sharing ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
These were excellent! However I added about a 1/4 cup of flour to the tart mixture and they turned out delicious! For sure a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Great pastry recipe for these tarts. Unfortunately I am disappointed to see a Canadian butter tart recipe with coconut. Have lived in Canada many years and made a lot of these tarts but never with coconut. The tart filling is great and should be no problem if directions are followed. Maybe I missed the ones with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I made these in the mini muffin tin and they didn't really turn out. They were not runny and were too sweet. I'm thinking that it's probably because they were too small so I'll try them again as a regular size and see what happens. The dough was good and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I used the English butter tarts filling (Fantastic) but used this recipe for the shells. Even thought the tarts shells were flaky, I found the tart shells had a strong taste of shortening and the amount recommended to be used needs to be reduced. The tart shells recipe would be much better for a pie shell than a butter tart shell. Will look for another tart shell recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
"waist expanding goodness" was how my husband described it. Very easy to make I thought, and the only thing different I did was to use Pecans instead of walnuts, a personal prefrence of my husbands. I also forgot to put the raisins in first, so I stirred them into the tarts instead. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States