Canadian Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
No coconut in Canada, folks! (And no pecans, either.) My great-gran's recipe specified walnuts (black walnuts if possible) and we kids counted the raisins into the pastry to guarantee even distribution. These tarts taste okay, but Canadian Butter Tarts they ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe word for word and the filling is perfect! However, the pastry was too crumbly for tarts. The crust tasted so good, but it was diffucult to handle. Next time I would substitue some butter for shortening. The butter will help to keep the pastry together and less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These butter tarts are AMAZING. This was my first attempt at making butter tarts & first time working with pastry. The pastry was wonderful and flaky, and the filling was the perfect consistency. I didn't use coconut and I used pecans instead of walnuts as a personal preference. I WILL make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've added walnuts and coconut lots of times to butter tarts but never roasted them first. Very nice taste, the toasting was particularly noticeable with the coconut. I also changed up the sugar a bit, using 1 1/4 c. brown sugar and 3/4 c. white sugar. I like the richer brown colour. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Easy pastry to work with. Great butter tarts! Very yummy. Thanks so much for sharing this with us ;)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These went over really well with my buttertart loving family. I had some trouble getting the dough to come together but it turned out wonderfully flakey. With the bit of leftover dough I made a few mini tarts in a mini muffin pan. I filled them with a mixture of jam and coconut. They were also a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This recipe was amazing! I made some with coconut, some with raisins, and some plain. The pastry made from scratch, I had to use margarine, but they tasted great because of the buttery flavor in the crust! I made my own brown sugar using about 2 tablespoons of molasses per cup of granulated sugar, so it was a nice dark brown sugar. They were runny, but my Canadian-born husband says they're supposed to be. He gives them a 10 (based on the husband scale)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lufbecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I've never made my own pastry before but these turned out pretty good!!! The dough was a little frustrating to roll out. These seemed like a lot of work for just 12 butter tarts, next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
The filling turned out perfect - not only was it runny and delicious, it looked good. WARNING: this is only true if you don't freeze them! They are NOT good once they've been frozen (which is how we like to keep them over the holidays). The sugars formed a hard block on the bottom of the tart and was very watery on top. The pastry wasn't as good as it could have been; it had too much shortening for the amount of flour. Also, the pastry recipe made 24 tart shells. My dad's recipe is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Never having made pastry or butter tarts before (being Canadian too), this was my first endevour into pastry-baking land and both the tarts and pastry turned out AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bree8523

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States