Canadian Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
they tasted fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I make these for my dad on Father's Day all the time. It's his favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I used my own pastry recipe,if its not broken, then well yah know. I omitted the hot water and only added a small amount of walnuts. For that extra zip I added a tablespoon of maple syrup. That's just how I like them, not that the original wasn't good. I think the folks that found it too runny is because of the water and not adding the coconut and rasins. So if you are not going to add these things, omit water, and bake it longer at a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I went thru this site and picked a few recipes that sounded good but were all slightly different so every christmas I could try a new recipe. So far, I have made this recipe 3 times.(and I just got it this past Christmas) My mouth is watering just writing about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Not pleased with this recipe at all. Butter tarts, in our family's view, shouldn't be runny, but I didn't realize they'd be THIS runny. Butter tarts should be "set" when you cut them in half and not have the entire filling fall out all over the plate. A little bit of runniness is tolerable but not to this extent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique M.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are delicious! wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Je suis Canadienne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
If you're looking for butter tart type of recipe. This isn't it. It's very sweet and not buttery at all. It is what it is....pure brown sugar taste. Ok, but not great. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was a very delicious recipe. I'm going to have to make it again, I had a difficult time getting it out of the pan (I greased it up good!) so many of them crumbled; but mainly due to my extremely flaky (but delicious) crust. It's suppper yummy (I used pecans instead of walnuts and no raisins) but I have to work on developing my technique. Definitely try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
No coconut in Canada, folks! (And no pecans, either.) My great-gran's recipe specified walnuts (black walnuts if possible) and we kids counted the raisins into the pastry to guarantee even distribution. These tarts taste okay, but Canadian Butter Tarts they ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States