Canadian Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
These are perfect! Thicker crusts and awesomely runny, exactly how I like my butter tarts :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by weeble
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
OMG...i chose to make these butter tarts as part of my Canadian Allstars Allrecipe (oh boy, say THAT three times, fast! LOL) challenge. i took them to my sil and bil's for a family get together, for dessert. i was relying on everyone to give me their opinions of them to help me rate them as i'm diabetic and cannot eat sweets. there was so much chatter about these while they were being eaten that i knew i had a winner. while watching all the finger licking and listening to the ooooing and awwwwing, i heard someone in the group say that they were like the ones you get in northern ontaio! that's when i broke down, and just had to try one! *gasp* these butter tarts took me back to a little town in northern ontario called temagami. i would buy butter tarts from the "chip truck" any chance i could. they were made by a lovely woman in town. i would then order a dozen of them to take home with me everytime. these are the quintessential all Canadian butter tart. they're sweet, ooey and gooey with a wonderful homemade canadian flavour that you just can't buy in the stores. the raisins gave them a nice added chewy texture. i omitted the nuts for allergy reasons, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. next time, and there will be a next time, i will make a recipe and a half of the filling just so there will be more ooey and gooeyness, cuz you can never have too much of THAT! LOL. thank you Valerie Hatfield-Ringrose, for sharing your recipe. it's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by steph
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
First time left the hot water out as didn't want them runny on this occasion very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crewe, Cheshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheerios
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
For the first assignment in the Canada All Stars cooks competition I made this recipe of Canadian Butter Tarts. Making the pastry was very easy for me and then making the filling was a breeze. I absolutely love the flavour of these tarts and would make this recipe again. Very good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
they tasted fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I make these for my dad on Father's Day all the time. It's his favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I used my own pastry recipe,if its not broken, then well yah know. I omitted the hot water and only added a small amount of walnuts. For that extra zip I added a tablespoon of maple syrup. That's just how I like them, not that the original wasn't good. I think the folks that found it too runny is because of the water and not adding the coconut and rasins. So if you are not going to add these things, omit water, and bake it longer at a lower temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I went thru this site and picked a few recipes that sounded good but were all slightly different so every christmas I could try a new recipe. So far, I have made this recipe 3 times.(and I just got it this past Christmas) My mouth is watering just writing about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Not pleased with this recipe at all. Butter tarts, in our family's view, shouldn't be runny, but I didn't realize they'd be THIS runny. Butter tarts should be "set" when you cut them in half and not have the entire filling fall out all over the plate. A little bit of runniness is tolerable but not to this extent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States