Canadian Butter Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Monique M.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are delicious! wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Je suis Canadienne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
If you're looking for butter tart type of recipe. This isn't it. It's very sweet and not buttery at all. It is what it is....pure brown sugar taste. Ok, but not great. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was a very delicious recipe. I'm going to have to make it again, I had a difficult time getting it out of the pan (I greased it up good!) so many of them crumbled; but mainly due to my extremely flaky (but delicious) crust. It's suppper yummy (I used pecans instead of walnuts and no raisins) but I have to work on developing my technique. Definitely try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
No coconut in Canada, folks! (And no pecans, either.) My great-gran's recipe specified walnuts (black walnuts if possible) and we kids counted the raisins into the pastry to guarantee even distribution. These tarts taste okay, but Canadian Butter Tarts they ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I followed this recipe word for word and the filling is perfect! However, the pastry was too crumbly for tarts. The crust tasted so good, but it was diffucult to handle. Next time I would substitue some butter for shortening. The butter will help to keep the pastry together and less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These butter tarts are AMAZING. This was my first attempt at making butter tarts & first time working with pastry. The pastry was wonderful and flaky, and the filling was the perfect consistency. I didn't use coconut and I used pecans instead of walnuts as a personal preference. I WILL make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I've added walnuts and coconut lots of times to butter tarts but never roasted them first. Very nice taste, the toasting was particularly noticeable with the coconut. I also changed up the sugar a bit, using 1 1/4 c. brown sugar and 3/4 c. white sugar. I like the richer brown colour. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Easy pastry to work with. Great butter tarts! Very yummy. Thanks so much for sharing this with us ;)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilove2jog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These went over really well with my buttertart loving family. I had some trouble getting the dough to come together but it turned out wonderfully flakey. With the bit of leftover dough I made a few mini tarts in a mini muffin pan. I filled them with a mixture of jam and coconut. They were also a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States