Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Just made this for the first time. Following advice from other reviews I cut the sugar to 1 cup and when all mixed I cooked on low heat to melt the sugar. This is very close in flavor to a BBQ sauce I had years ago in AL and my hubby is very happy I found this. Will be a big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Added honey to the recipe and love the sweet and tangy taste. Also love the way it sticks to the meat rather then running off into the flames:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Just what I was looking for!! I LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Just made this sauce for Ribs tonight.So good.Can't stop licking my fingers. LOL. Made recipe as is and does not need ANY changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I didn't try this, but my boys did. I used the sauce on pork ribs that were baked using the slow-cooking oven method and they came out great. Love that this doesn't call for any non-staple ingredients and was easy to throw together. I'm sure this would be equally good on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Love this Sauce! I make pulled pork with it and serve the pulled pork over Vanilla Ice Cream its so sweet. Even my kids and their picky eating habits are no match for this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Really good BBQ sauce that is VERY sweet, which for my taste is great. Works better as a marinade though or a glaze than as a sauce on the side in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I have been making this sauce for years, I used to live in Montreal and eat there very often with family & friends. There is nothing like it!! I was lucky to get the recipe from another source and yours is exactly the same. The only difference is that I boil the ribs with an onion, clove and bay leaf for 30 minutes. When in the oven I turn and baste them every 20 minutes for 2 hours @ 325f. So people out there, this is the True Honest BarBBarn sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I used a little less brown sugar and added liquid smoke... but all in all great sauce for ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I would totally make this again. I used sweetend applsauce so I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups. Didn't have paprika so I used chilli powder, no garlic salt so I just used garlic powder. I used Apple cider viniger instead of lemon. I made pork loin chops in the slow cooker using this sauce. They came out so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States