Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 16, 2004
A tad bit too sweet for our tastes... Will cut back on the brown sugar next time. But there will be a next time, because it was a great tasting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Made this again with the ribs and this time we felt they were a little too sweet. After reading the reviews about how sweat it was I cut back the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Mixed everything together in bowl. Cut up ribs into two's, boiled baby back ribs (3 racks) for about 30 mins. Tossed sauce with the ribs in a roasting pan. Cooked for 1 hour with the lid on at 350 degrees. Took lid off and cooked for another 45 mins. at 325 degrees until carmelized. These were the best ribs I think I have ever had. We all can't wait to have them again. I only use pork baby back ribs because they are leaner. Can't wait to try the sauce on chicken also!! Thanks Wendy for a great sauce!! Update Sept.20/08-Made this again, haven't for a long time and now we find it way too sweet. I have been using Presidents Choice Smokin Stampede Chipotole for the last year and it's the best. I even cut the brown sugar in half again, sooo sweet, sorry not for us. Michele, Cambridge, Ontario Thanks Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Very good recipe was taken back by itand so was the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAZZ000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
it's a good bbq sauce, but it can be very sweet, so watch for the sugar! I would highly recommend cutting the sugar back .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Very quick & full of flavor. I cut back 1/2 cup on the sugar & used it as a simmering sauce for veggie chicken-style nuggets. The kids gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
So good, I used it on chicken and it was wonderful. I can't wait to try it on ribs and chicken wings. I marinated the chicken for 30 minutes and then boiled the leftover sauce and used it for basting while on the BBQ. I will use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Oh, my, God, this is good! This recipe deserves 10 stars. It is the best! I made it for a party, and everyone asked for the recipe. I've made it since then and my husband and I LOVE it!!! It's so easy, and doesn't require a lot of time to marinate. It's wonderful on ribs and chicken. To simplify eating the ribs, I cut the rack into individual ribs before marinating and then bake in the oven. It's easier than trying to cut them apart when they are covered in sauce and hot. I also recommend basting with this sauce during cooking. At least twice an hour. This sauce is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This is a fantastic sauce! Easy to put together, and sooo yummie! When I used it on beef ribs for a special dinner everyone fell in love with it. Not a drop was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Much better then any store bought bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA 1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spicer, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Very yummy!! Ommited the chili and added worcsh sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaandAvasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States