Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
Made this again with the ribs and this time we felt they were a little too sweet. After reading the reviews about how sweat it was I cut back the brown sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Mixed everything together in bowl. Cut up ribs into two's, boiled baby back ribs (3 racks) for about 30 mins. Tossed sauce with the ribs in a roasting pan. Cooked for 1 hour with the lid on at 350 degrees. Took lid off and cooked for another 45 mins. at 325 degrees until carmelized. These were the best ribs I think I have ever had. We all can't wait to have them again. I only use pork baby back ribs because they are leaner. Can't wait to try the sauce on chicken also!! Thanks Wendy for a great sauce!! Update Sept.20/08-Made this again, haven't for a long time and now we find it way too sweet. I have been using Presidents Choice Smokin Stampede Chipotole for the last year and it's the best. I even cut the brown sugar in half again, sooo sweet, sorry not for us. Michele, Cambridge, Ontario Thanks Wendy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Very good recipe was taken back by itand so was the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAZZ000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
it's a good bbq sauce, but it can be very sweet, so watch for the sugar! I would highly recommend cutting the sugar back .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Very quick & full of flavor. I cut back 1/2 cup on the sugar & used it as a simmering sauce for veggie chicken-style nuggets. The kids gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
So good, I used it on chicken and it was wonderful. I can't wait to try it on ribs and chicken wings. I marinated the chicken for 30 minutes and then boiled the leftover sauce and used it for basting while on the BBQ. I will use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Oh, my, God, this is good! This recipe deserves 10 stars. It is the best! I made it for a party, and everyone asked for the recipe. I've made it since then and my husband and I LOVE it!!! It's so easy, and doesn't require a lot of time to marinate. It's wonderful on ribs and chicken. To simplify eating the ribs, I cut the rack into individual ribs before marinating and then bake in the oven. It's easier than trying to cut them apart when they are covered in sauce and hot. I also recommend basting with this sauce during cooking. At least twice an hour. This sauce is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This is a fantastic sauce! Easy to put together, and sooo yummie! When I used it on beef ribs for a special dinner everyone fell in love with it. Not a drop was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Much better then any store bought bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA 1212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spicer, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Very yummy!! Ommited the chili and added worcsh sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaandAvasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Very Very Sweet! This was good. I only used 1 cup of brown sugar and it was still very sweet:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States