Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Not good. Followed recipe but reduced sugar a little. Still found it too sweet and flat/uninteresting. I felt the apple sauce was bad for the recipe. I was surprised as most other recipes with such a good rating (4.5 stars) really are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSINGTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
YUM! If you like a sweet vs a more tangy BBQ sauce, this it the one! I needed something super easy with a homemade twist, so I threw 5 chicken breasts in the crock pot, covered with this sauce and cooked for 4 hrs on high and it came out perfect! My picky 3 yr old and hubby LOVED it! No left overs between the three of us. I'm going to mix a huge batch of this up and seal it in mason jars for use with other crockpot/grill recipes. My family will not eat bottled sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I thought this recipe was great as long as you reduce the amount of sugar as others suggested. I used only one cup and may even try using only 2/3 cup next time. My husband loved the ribs. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I made this tonight for the family and everyone loved it. I marinated the ribs last night and left them in the fridge, then this afternoon at 1pm I put them in the oven at 250 covered. I took the foil off at 4pm and let them cook uncovered for an additional hour. I basted them every 15 min that last hour. It was a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I will reduce the brown sugar by half. The meat absolutely fell off the bone. Delicious!!! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I admit I was skeptical, but this was fabulous....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
This sauce is great, I make it with chicken all the time. Just a great sweet bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Okay, really, this recipe is the bomb! My family won't let us make any other kind of bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I doubled the recipe because I had two racks of baby back ribs to deal with. (I should have made more...I ran out of sauce while BBQing) I took everyone's advice and used less sugar...2 cups loosely packed brown sugar...it wasn't sweet enough. Next time I'll pack the sugar and see what happens. I only gave the sauce 3 stars because although it was good...it wasn't spectacular. I almost felt like the flavour of the sauce was lost on the ribs. Maybe it will improve with a little more sugar and longer marinade time. I wonder if it would work well in the slow cooker? UPDATE: I tried this recipe again with ribs only this time I cooked the ribs slowly (300F) in the sauce in my table-top roaster oven. I used packed sugar this time instead of losely packed like I did before, so the sauce was a little sweeter. Cooking the ribs slowly in the sauce made all the difference. I won't change the 3 stars though because although it was good, it wasn't spectacular. The biggest pain was having to use oven cleaner to remove all the baked on sauce from the roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
In a word... YUM! I used this on some chicken breasts on the grill, marinated them for about an hour before grilling and then basted while they were cooking. I had set some aside to use for dipping when we were eating. Maybe a touch too sweet for my taste, I think next time I'll make a batch with a little less brown sugar. But still... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNEKRZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I can't even start to explain how wonderful this sauce was. It was a little sweet but it beats the everyday bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States