Canadian Barn BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
If you like a sweet bbq sauce, then this one's for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I make this sauce all the time. I have only made one modification to the recipe, I added 1/2 tsp of crushed red peppers. My family and friends love it, and say it only taste right when i make it for them. This sauce is perfect, i oughtta bottle it so I just have it around instead of having to make it all the time. I have used this on chicken mostly and ribs once, and I never have any sauce or chicken left over. I brush on throughout the cooking process so that the sauce caramelizes. If you do it that way you will never get a complaint about this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakersman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
After reading reviews of this sauce being too sweet I reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup and it was still WAY too sweet. The taste was a bit off too, so I added a couple of tbsps of worchestshire sauce and a little extra ketchup (would have used some tomatoes/tomato paste if I had some on hand). This made it tasty enough to serve but honestly the end result was still too sweet. My kid loved it though, being a kid and loving the sweet stuff! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is the best BBQ sauce I've ever had. I'm usually a fan of Sweet Baby Rays but will only use that in a pinch from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SumBrenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
My hubby loves this sauce on ribs. He requests it anytime we bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I loved this sauce! It was a little too sweet for my husband's tastes, but he still enjoyed the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
A bit on the sweet side. I used a pre-made Rib sauce instead of Ketchup as it contained most of the spices and sugar. So I only added half the amount of sugar later. Still a nice sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Not good. Followed recipe but reduced sugar a little. Still found it too sweet and flat/uninteresting. I felt the apple sauce was bad for the recipe. I was surprised as most other recipes with such a good rating (4.5 stars) really are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSINGTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
YUM! If you like a sweet vs a more tangy BBQ sauce, this it the one! I needed something super easy with a homemade twist, so I threw 5 chicken breasts in the crock pot, covered with this sauce and cooked for 4 hrs on high and it came out perfect! My picky 3 yr old and hubby LOVED it! No left overs between the three of us. I'm going to mix a huge batch of this up and seal it in mason jars for use with other crockpot/grill recipes. My family will not eat bottled sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I thought this recipe was great as long as you reduce the amount of sugar as others suggested. I used only one cup and may even try using only 2/3 cup next time. My husband loved the ribs. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States