Canadian Bacon Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I doubled this recipe. To make this a little more personal, I added a little Frank's Hot Sauce, a couple teaspoons of italian seasoning and another cup of cheese. This is almost like goulash. Doubled recipe, no leftovers. Husband ate what everyone else didn't. I absolutely think double the cheese is crucial. My kids thought canadian bacon in macaroni and cheese was great. Next time, I'll add some sauteed onion/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I absolutley didn't like it. there was no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
i followed the recipe at first, when i added the cheese to the flour/butter mixture it turned into pretty much a solid rock, i added some milk to get the sauce to the creamy texture i prefer. and it turned out good, some salt and pepper would be good for a bit of extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was excellent! I added some garlic/onions like others had suggested. Also added abit of Tabasco/Worchestershire sauce - along with about a 1/4 thick Greek yoghurt. I topped it off with about 7 Saltines that had been crushed mixed with abit of Mrs. Dash and left over grated cheese. I placed this all into a casserole dish, and cooked for about 30 minutes until it bubbled and topping was brown at 350F. Served with a side salad - perfect meal for a diabetic gal like myself (am Type 1 of 42 years - like to watch my carbs - but this little "cheat" meal was so worth it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I sauteed red onions, garlic, roasted red peppers, and mushrooms with the bacon (I used turkey) and added S & P & garlic salt - yum! Added milk (1-2 cups) to make a true cheese sauce and used Italian style diced toms after everything was mixed together and topped it with shredded cheese...... Okay base but needs all this to get it to 5 stars. SMELLS Good! TASTES GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
All was going good until step 3 when i starting mixing it all together, the mix went "ultra" glugly and was hardly eatable, but i saved the recipe by adding bolongse pasta sauce, although then the food had a weird texture, but was still delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nita
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
For the macaroni and cheese, we used diced tomatoes. I think that it could have been better with a little bit of milk help melt the cheese to make it creamier. Overall, it was a unique and almost Italian twist on the macaroni and cheese we are used to. It is really tasty and I'm sure with a little adjustments it could be a meal everyone could enjoy. Even my mom and my brother loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I liked this recipe but no one els in the family did. It doesn't have a whole bunch of flavor so if you are looking for something that will wow people this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I tried it and used stewed tomatoes. My sister and nephew loved it. I thought it was good and very easy! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My boyfriend found this recipe and made it for me because I was missing food from home. I have to say that this is the best macaroni and cheese I've ever had! I could eat the entire pot to myself I love it that much. Definetly worth a try! I have it every few weeks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States