Canada Day Nanaimo Bar Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
followed the recipe exactly. it looks just like the photo. it tasted pretty good, but was absolutely nothing like a nanaimo bar, except in looks. so that was quite disappointing. it's more just a chocolate topped cheesecake. i didn't bother checking while baking and just pulled it out at 40 minutes. it was a bit overbaked, so check around 30-35 minutes. also, i had no problem finding custard powder, maybe it's not something normally stocked in american grocery stores? (i'm in canada.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Made these for Canada Day and my mother cried tears of joy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
WOW!!! These were fantastic, everyone raved about them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was SO good! I did everything as written but I used French Vanilla pudding mix in place of the custard powder since I could not find it. YUM!Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I like the cheesecake idea! I did not use Oreo cookie crust recipe though. I used the traditional Nanaimo bar crust recipe. With milk chocolate chip and a little less cream for a firm top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Get Bird's Custard mix on the international food aisle of larger grocery stores. It's a British import. Also available at Cost Plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I liked the idea, but part of the joy of nanaimo squares is the super sweetness, and this cheesecake just didn't have it. I rated it 4 as everyone else liked it, the idea is awesome, just my personal opinion differed from everyone elses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was a really cool idea for a cheesecake and it worked out really well. The only thing was I was expecting more of a nanaimo bar taste, but it gets 5 stars for looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Such a wonderful recipe to have. Tastes wonderful and pretty easy to make. Follow the recipe exactly and you get a delicious dessert. I couldn't find heavy cream anywhere so I used whipping cream and it turn out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was pretty good! Next time I'll probably put it in a smaller baking dish because I'd like to have a thicker choc crust! :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States