Campfire Vidalias Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make. A nice idea for camping. Goes good on burgers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I like onions in things, but the thought of just eating an onion seemed weird. this was great though. Super easy and super sweet and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
SOOOOO Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great fall camping dish with a good steak on the grill. Prep at home and keep in a zip lock bag in the cooler until you are ready to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
We have tried this recipie many times,with many variations. Our favorite is using olive oil instead of butter and adding some rosemary. Another variation came from another reviewer was adding beef boulin, greek dressing and a dash of Worceshire dressing, this tasted kind of like French Onion soup. For sweeter varaiation we use butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon. This is a nice summer treat, and taste best with grilled hamburgers. I have only had it cooked on a BBQ, but I am sure it was taste even better if it was cooked in the coals of a campfire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katfitch
Home Town: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Healy, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is an awesome recipe (even for those who do not like onions). My 12 year old son would not touch onions until I made these. We make them every time we go camping or when we have block parties. Everyone wants the recipe. Cooking the onions in an open fire is the best because the onions get charred on the outer edges but grilling at home is fine too. I also tried green peppers this way and they were great too. If you fix steak the same night and have leftovers, heat the steak, onions and green peppers with cumin or fajita seasoning, over the campfire (or the grill), put in warmed tortilla wraps and you have great fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
We did these on the grill because we were at home and not camping. We did use the beef bouilon and glad we did. I would probably omit the garlic next time. I thought they would be more carmalize however they were more like steamed. The flavor was good, just not sure I would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
delicious, I did try the suggestion of using 1 beef buillon cube for each. the next night I placed leftover onion on top baquette bread and sliced gruyere cheese in the oven until cheese melted. wonderful cheese bread, good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
We make this recipe often. We add a cube of chicken bullion instead of the garlic clove. It works well on the grill or the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Campfire Corn

Sink your teeth into the taste of summer: grilled corn and garlic butter.

Simply Roasted Artichokes

See a simple technique for preparing and roasting artichokes.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States