Campfire Skillet Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Garlic an mushrooms and put in a tortilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a frittata. If you approach it that way, you can add all sorts of leftovers in your fridge and it will always turn out well. I went Mexican and added chopped jalapenos and finished it off with cilantro and salsa. Next time I might try chopped spinach and sliced mushrooms. Play around with this recipe and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
A great camping dish - we plan this so that when we bake potatos for dinner, we make a few extra - and then throw the cooked, chopped up potatos in the pan after the bacon. They brown up nicely in the bacon fat, and dont take so long as they are already cooked. Wipe out some of the fat before adding the eggs - maybe add a little butter so the eggs dont stick. Bacon fat tends to be real greasy - Awesome treat. Gave it 4 stars cuz surely it cant be very good for us...but tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
A classic. I can't think of a more perfect combination of ingredients, especially if you add peppers (bell and/or hot). The proportion of ingredients is not all that important in this mix, almost anything will work. Not just for breakfast and not just for camping. Made it this morning in my cast iron skillet on the stove. Happy tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Not camping but we enjoyed this at home just the same. I used my cast iron skillet over a gas range to cook this. I doubled the bacon, cut the potatoes back a bit and added fresh minced garlic, red bell pepper and mushrooms. I just cooked the potatoes to a nice crispness, then added the onion, garlic, red bell pepper and mushrooms. This was a nice hearty and filling breakfast that fed the four of us (yes, four.......not eight). My husband and I garnished ours with homemade salsa, hot sauce and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
We made this on Memorial Day over a campfire in a cast iron skillet, and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is something like what I grew up eating in the summers at our family's campground lot. I followed directions but made a few modifications based on time and what my preference is, otherwise, followed everything else. Here's what I did differently: I made recipe stovetop at home over medium heat in skillet. I chopped bacon into bite size pieces before cooking to save time. I added a little olive oil to pan since I used turkey bacon, which doesn't generate enough fat for cooking. I left skins on potatoes which is a personal preference. I added garlic powder and pepper to potatoes (didnt add salt because most bacons are salty enough for my taste but wished I had added a little--all personal preferences). Last, I added about 1/2 cup milk to my eggs before adding (it makes eggs fluffier, again personal preference.) Not major changes, just personal preference changes. I don't believe my changes impacted the flavor of original recipe. From start to finish took about 30 minutes before we sat down to eat. This is a user friendly recipe that is very versitale. You can modify it to make it your own very easily. You can add heat if you like it spicier. You can also add other veggies like green pepper or mushrooms, or even make with sausage instead of bacon, as we've done that before too. If you like the core ingredients, you really should give this recipe a try--even if you are not camping.**Thank you for sharing recipe**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the perfect breakfast dish to have on a camping trip. It tasted great and gave me the energy I needed to hike all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent. Made it at home, not at camp, but was a simple, delicious breakfast. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States