Campfire Skillet Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is an excellent dish and can be done in a frying pan on the stove in the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Loved this recipe. My family and I loved it. I like being able to prepare something that everyone loves in one dish. I did not use a castiron skillet, but a large non stick skillet instead and it turned out great even cooked on the stove. I did pre cook the potatoes in the microwave to speed things along and also pre cut the bacon before cooking to save time. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I have made this dish many times over the years. Its a warm, hearty, one pan start to a day outdoors. I use canned potatoes for easy preparation. Another trick is to precook the bacon, if you want the convenience of less refrigeration, smaller space consumption. You do need some of the fat for cooking the potatoes so dont make it too crisp. Happy trails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
My family devoured the entire contents of the skillet...thinking of this becoming the traditional Sat breakfast. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I'm giving five stars b/c the finished product tasted great. However, I had a problem with it sticking really bad to the skillet. I couldn't just let it sit for the 10-12 minutes or it would have burned badly, even after I reduced the heat. I also had to stir after adding the eggs so it came out as sort of scramble, but the taste was awesome! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Easy and delicious! I did this on the stovetop and added in some chopped broccoli that I needed to use before it went south. I also added some garlic powder and black pepper in with the eggs. I LOVE that it was a one skillet meal, making for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
A++ We made this camping and everyone was fighting over it!! Definately will make this everytime we camp!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Yummy, Yummy, Yummy, Yummmm-mmmmy! It's delcious and I don't even like eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I grew up on this meal and we often had it for a quick dinner. I also use it as an adult and my own family loves it anytime of the day. We sometimes use different breakfast meats for a quick change up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Great recipe. I really did cook this over a fire and it was delicious. I ommited the onions and guestimated the cheese. This will be a camping staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEOXFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States