Campfire Skillet Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I'm giving five stars b/c the finished product tasted great. However, I had a problem with it sticking really bad to the skillet. I couldn't just let it sit for the 10-12 minutes or it would have burned badly, even after I reduced the heat. I also had to stir after adding the eggs so it came out as sort of scramble, but the taste was awesome! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is an excellent dish and can be done in a frying pan on the stove in the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I have made this dish many times over the years. Its a warm, hearty, one pan start to a day outdoors. I use canned potatoes for easy preparation. Another trick is to precook the bacon, if you want the convenience of less refrigeration, smaller space consumption. You do need some of the fat for cooking the potatoes so dont make it too crisp. Happy trails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Not camping but we enjoyed this at home just the same. I used my cast iron skillet over a gas range to cook this. I doubled the bacon, cut the potatoes back a bit and added fresh minced garlic, red bell pepper and mushrooms. I just cooked the potatoes to a nice crispness, then added the onion, garlic, red bell pepper and mushrooms. This was a nice hearty and filling breakfast that fed the four of us (yes, four.......not eight). My husband and I garnished ours with homemade salsa, hot sauce and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
going camping today..will definitely use this as a breakfast since i need to fix it quick so the men can get into the river to fish..seems pretty easy and looks like a fast meal....if anyone has any other ideas for camping meals cooked over a fire i sure would like to hear them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Loved this recipe. My family and I loved it. I like being able to prepare something that everyone loves in one dish. I did not use a castiron skillet, but a large non stick skillet instead and it turned out great even cooked on the stove. I did pre cook the potatoes in the microwave to speed things along and also pre cut the bacon before cooking to save time. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This is the perfect breakfast dish to have on a camping trip. It tasted great and gave me the energy I needed to hike all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trenton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent. Made it at home, not at camp, but was a simple, delicious breakfast. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very basic and very tasty breakfast. Next time, I will cook the bacon ahead of time to cut down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
You can dice the potatoes (store in no-leak container with cold water) and fry & crumble the bacon at home first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni Cido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States