Campfire Skillet Breakfast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very basic and very tasty breakfast. Next time, I will cook the bacon ahead of time to cut down on prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
going camping today..will definitely use this as a breakfast since i need to fix it quick so the men can get into the river to fish..seems pretty easy and looks like a fast meal....if anyone has any other ideas for camping meals cooked over a fire i sure would like to hear them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poohbearandhunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I grew up making this on camping trips. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HugBug01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This was ok. Needs salt and pepper. If I make it again, I will partially cook the potatoes before I put them in the skillet; hopefully they won't stick as much that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I made this on the stove. Loved the fact that it only used one pan. As written, it was pretty good, but not fantastic. I would suggest adding some garlic and maybe some other spices to add some more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was my idea of camp cooking...much easier than cooking everything by itself. We worried about the amount of bacon grease so we removed about half of it...mistake...we needed it all since we cooked it over the campfire. We will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H0neybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I love this recipe, but make it over the stove. It is my "go-to" breakfast when I'm in charge Sunday mornings and need to use up some left over potatoes. Quick, easy, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
We love this recipe. We made one similiar to it when I was a kid camping with my family. We used to call it "Paul Bunyan Breakfast". I did leave out the onions, but otherwise left everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
We also use Potatoes O'Brien instead of the potatoes/onions. We also add a can of green chilies and then put it on a tortilla for a breakfast burrito. Definately an easy camping breakfast. Smells awesome, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
You can dice the potatoes (store in no-leak container with cold water) and fry & crumble the bacon at home first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soni Cido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Island, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Breakfast Biscuits

Load them up with bacon or sausage, eggs, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States