Campfire Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
We make these potatoes often using Reynolds Release non-stick foil, and they never stick! This recipe is very close to my own recipe. I use lots of spices, such as: garlic, dill, black pepper, seasoned salt, and paprika. I have never used the chicken broth, but look forward to trying it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I've been making similar recipe for years! I use 4 med. potatoes (diced), 1 med. onion chopped,10-12 baby carrots (halved) and about 1/2 stick of butter (cubed), (salt and pepper of course) I put these on the grill as soon as i light it and by the time it warms up and the meats done they're done! Then slice down center of foil pouch, place cheese of choice (i use american slices) close foil and allow steam to melt cheese, Remember to turn pouch about every 5 min. to assure even cooking and no sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I also reduced the butter. Replaced the broth with white wine, as its a lot easier to use up leftover wine than leftover broth when camping, and traded out the parsley for a combination of fresh tarragon and chives from my garden. YUM! Leftovers made for great breakfast burritos the next day - sauteed the poataoes so they got a good crust and added eggs, bacon and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Excellent - I added a bit of green pepper for added flavor. A great grill recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I think this was a good recipe, but they were a little bland. I tried them for the first time last night, and they were o.k. You do get the taste of the worstershire sauce and alot of the onion flavor but it really lacked salt or a little something extra. I think if i try this again i might just go with different seasonings, but stick with the chicken broth and maybe do half an onion. But if you are an onion lover for for a whole onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My wife discovered this one. It has become a family staple. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Awesome! I added a bit more cheese and I think next time I'll add even more. I also topped it off with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Tried these on a camping trip this weekend. They turned out great. I scaled down the recipe by 1/2. I think the idea of using a foil bag would be easier, I had a bit of leakage with regular foil. The idea of making individual packets is great too! A little easier to handle that way. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Try making individual packages,with about half a medium potato each, sliced, and follow the recipe; leave the cheese out and cook as directed (I always omit the broth, add lots of butter, use double foil wrap and make sure it´s well sealed)When they are almost done, open package neatly making a "bowl" with the foil and add cheese, wait until cheese melts. I always serve it with the foil directly on the individual plate, with a rib eye steak and a skewer of shrimps. It looks award winning, and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
We all enjoyed these very much. My whole family requested that we have these again "very soon". Easy to cook. Make sure you put plenty of chicken broth in the foil pack though, it could burn very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States