Campfire Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Okay so I peeled/cubed the potatoes instead of slicing and I saved the cheese for the top when they were done and added as a topper along with some green onions but these were VERY tasty alongside my bacon and I recommend them to everyone. They turned out very crisp and brown like I like them and you really cannot go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Only gave 4 because I did not follow the recipe exact. I fried some bacon and coated the potatoes with the bacon grease. I added the spices and the bacon, omitted the broth and didn't add the cheese until the end. Just served them out of the foil, so clean up was minimal. Thanks for a great and easy recipe idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
We made this on a camping trip last year and LOVED it!!!! No dishes to wash because I cooked extra bacon at breakfast. Great flavor. Will definately be making this when we camp again. Can also be made on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Brewer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I was assembling this recipe and when it came to the 1/3 cup of broth.. I was afraid that I would have mashed potato's so I put 2 tablespoons and they were perfect! I also added cheese at the end for glamour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These potatoes were OK, but not spectacular. I found them somewhat mushy in texture. Next time, I would probably omit the broth, and add some more herbs, like rosemary or oregano, which are both lovely with potatoes. Perhaps if they were made in the oven, with the foil open for the last 20 minutes of cooking they would be crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
We were going to do these on a camping trip over the open fire, but were rained out. I did them in a 9 x 13 at 375 for about 45 minutes covered. Then I added more cheese over the top and broiled them for a couple of minutes. We really enjoyed the flavor of these. They were mild, but you could really taste the individual ingredients. Super! I would up the Wort. and maybe add some fresh garlic nest time. The onions in the mixture were awesome, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I was looking for a different way to make potatoes on the grill, this really hit the spot, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I didn't really care for this. There was too much Worchestire for my taste. Perhaps cutting it back would help. Also, the cheese was mixed with the worchestire and parsley and sprinkled on top as directed, but even after over 30 minutes, it didn't seem to melt the way you would expect it too. Maybe I did something wrong in the prep, but it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Not good for us. I did as suggested and added some more spices, but still pretty boring outcome:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
We make these potatoes often using Reynolds Release non-stick foil, and they never stick! This recipe is very close to my own recipe. I use lots of spices, such as: garlic, dill, black pepper, seasoned salt, and paprika. I have never used the chicken broth, but look forward to trying it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States