Campfire Foil Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This is very good to make when camping. It doesn't get soggy but is tender. I will definately use this in my campfire cooking lineup again and again. BTW it is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I also cook this with a boullion cube....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
These was very good and I plan to make them again and again. They were very decadent, and the flavor was just perfect (although they needed additional salt at the table in spite of what I thought was plenty before cooking). I made them at home in the oven, using a glass baking dish. I set the oven higher, to 450 degrees, and left the baking time the same. I also added a little olive oil before the butter. Often I've searched so hard for something different to serve as a vegetable, and I've always overlooked the simple onion! Thank you, Riverview5950, for sharing this recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This recipe is very much like the one called 'Grilled Onions' on this site - they are both wonderful! I usually make them when I'm cooking corn on the grill. I always cut out a little notch of onion from the top, and insert a beef bouillon cube. This, combined with the butter, gives it an almost French Onion soup flavor. We love it! Thanks so much for reminding me of a superb recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
The onion was great but it took about 35 minuates to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
A good recipe that is easy and fun and yummy. I agree with a previous reviewer to reference as to cutting out a notch in the onion and adding a beef bouillion cube. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Awesome! If you like French onion Soup then you will LOVE this recipe! I do mine a weee bit different, I buy the biggest vidillia onion & cut the "core" on top out. Squirt butter in the hole, a splash of worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt & pepper.. Wrap tightly in foil & grill 30-45 minutes. A MUST if you are camping on the grill! Enjoy, Also good with sprinkling some parmesan cheese on top. All kinds of things you can add!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
We made these while camping and even a non onion lover loved them! I did like others said and added some sprinkled vegtable boullion to each onion and they ended up flavorful and yummy. I used very large, sweet onions and because they were so big we had to cook them somewhat longer but they were well worth the wait! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that will now be a part of our camping menus all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is an awesome recipe! I've made it while camping and at home in the oven. The recipe is great as-is, but even better if you add a beef boullion cube in the center along with a few drops of worcestershire. It tastes like french onion soup! Great served with steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe is a whole lot better if you place a chicken or beef cube in the middle of the onion before you wrap in foil. Still a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Hocking, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States