Campfire Banana Splits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
these are spectacular...but just so everyone knows eating bananas while camping will increase the amount of mosquito bites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe is so good!! Rather than placing on grill I place mine in the oven on 350 for just a couple of mintues or until the marshmallows are toasted/browned. 2 thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These are wonderful! A nice change from s'mores. We do sometimes add peanutbutter also for an extra gooey treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
When I counseled Church camps in the 70's, we called these banana boats. Ours were slightly different. We left the stem attached, and cut a wedge the length of the banana, leaving the peel attached on the stem end. Then we would fill the opening with pieces of a chocolate candy bar and marshmallows, and cover with the piece of peel before cooking in the fire. Equally good and equally messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Mmmmmmm! We just got back from a camping trip and we have fallen in love with this recipe. It's delicious! My husband said that he wants to make this at home in the oven! The only thing I would do different next time is stuff the marshmallows in first because they were all over the aluminum foil and not in the banana. Thanks for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idealnut
Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
These were so cool! Even my hubby who normally doesn't have dessert was curious enough to try one of these, then he went to work and told everyone so now I have to make copies of this recipe. The bananas were a little tricky to stuff but worth it. I recommend also using nonstick foil as well with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I tried this while camping this weekend and our guests LOVED it. I used peanut butter & milk chocolate chips and it was awesome. Everyone kept saying we needed some ice cream,whipped cream and cherries and it would be complete. I think I will try butterscotch chips next time. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Let these cook slow and make sure they melt! Eat with a spoon for an excellent treat. We camp a lot through the summer, and this is a great change of pace, and mom's way to sneak in some extra fruit! For those reading other reviews, OF COURSE YOU DON'T EAT THE PEEL!!! scoop the filling out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I made these for my family on our camping trip and they loved them! We used regular chocolate chips and peanut butter chips! I'm sure they will become a regular item on our camping menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
These were terrible. I won't ever try these again, they tasted like melted plastic. Maybe I did something wrong. I don't think cooked banana peels are very edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States