Camper's Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Could have sworn I had onion soup mix, but wasn't in the cabinet, so I subbed some garlic salt - Delicious!! I used yukon gold potatoes that were not very fresh, and they were yummy - they steamed inside the foil pouch and were soft with just a few crunchy bits. I would have liked a few more crunchy edges, but I did have a little trouble with my potatoes sticking to the foil. This might be because I forgot to melt the butter, I just put dotted a few pats of butter over the top. Or, maybe to be safe next time, I will give the foil a quick spray of cooking spray...After I put them in the serving dish I sprinkled some crumbled gorgonzola over the top. We were licking our plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I make this all the time, even when I'm not camping. I usually just chop everything up, throw in a gallon plastic baggie, add some olive oil and the seasoning, shake it all up to coat, then throw in foil. I also add carrots, green peppers or both. A packet of zesty Italian dressing is good in place of onion soup mix. When camping I love to bring a steak that I preseasoned and froze (makes a great temporary ice pack) to complete my filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by id3253

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Tasty! I added the onion soup mix to the melted butter, then tossed with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I usually put the potatoes in a foil pan rather than wrapped in aluminum foil. I have also made these with an envelope of italian dressing or ranch mix to change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
what can be better than potatoes and onions? So easy to make! And delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great flavor and easy to do! I added some zuccini, squash, and red pepper. I am definitely adding this to my summertime recipe repertoire. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as written. The only difference was I cooked them in one foil packet instead of four. I cooked them for 35 minutes and they turned out perfectly! Hubby thought they needed a light sprinkle of salt, and after trying his I agreed they were better. I will definitely be making these again. Easy cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Went camping and everyone enjoyed it. I had them premade in a zip lock baggie for 24 hours before hand. Didn't use mushrooms. Did fry up some bacon, and cumbled some into the mix. I doubled the butter. Went camping, fried it up. Did add 6 whipped eggs to it during the last 7 minutes of frying. Served it with cheese and some left over Carne Asade meat from the night before (tore it into bite size pieces). We made "Camping Breakfast Burritos" out of this. Warmed up a large flour tortilla. Then added what you want, chopped onion, chopped cilantro, or salso. Or Ketchup as my son likes it. This is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These was great reminds me of my childhood camping trips...I used all Ingredients but I add cheddar cheese on top..right about the time I'm about to take them off the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vampixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Garlic Red Potatoes

This simple, savory side dish is perfect beside steaks and roasts.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States