Campbell's® Swiss Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I used 48oz of the California mix vegetables, a 26oz can of Cream of Mushroom soup (tried to get low sodium, but could not find it), and substituted plain Greek yogurt for the sour cream. I increased the amount of yogurt and cheese roughly in proportion to the extra soup and veggies. Also, used a 6oz can of the French Fried Onions. The veggies weren't completely thawed, so I set the oven to 375, and cooked a maybe 10 minutes longer (sorry, I'm a bad scientist in the kitchen - I go with instinct a lot). There wasn't much leftover, and what was left was taken home by other guests. I was told it was in fact "a hit". I'll do it again, and experiment with reducing the overall sodium and fat content, and maybe incorporating other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Love this recipe. Real comfort food. East to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I LOVE the flavor that the Swiss cheese brings to this recipe. I wanted a veggie casserole for Thanksgiving rather than the old standard green beans or green bean casserole. Since I already am a fan of broccoli and cauliflower, I knew that I would like this recipe. It was one of my favorite dishes at Thanksgiving. The onion rings added a nice flavor also. I made this recipe directly by the directions and wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very easy and tastes fantastic. I did slice up a pound of smoked sausage and made it a main dish. The different ways to tweek this is exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
easy to make ahead and cook later. family loves it, casserole dish is always emptied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and always serve it as a side to Chicken Parisian Crepes that I make. I love the addition of the sour cream to make it richer. For those who do not like swiss cheese, I've made it with muenster, but swiss is my favorite. To make things cook more quickly (and avoid crunchy vegetables), I often pre-cook the veggies in the microwave with a little water to speed things up. This is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Loved this! Especially good with the Swiss cheese, my favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was really very good! I added 1/4 tsp garlic salt and garlic powder to mine. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this with a few alterations: subbed cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom (all I had on hand, but you could probably use any "cream of" soup), shredded cheddar instead of swiss (again, it was already in the fridge), tossed in about a quarter of an onion chopped since we were a little short on the French-fried onions (fiance likes to snack on these, so it wasn't a full can), and put in a little chicken sausage (chopped). Although I altered it a bit I feel it's fair to remove a star simply because the cooking time and temp didn't get the carrots cooked through. My fiance liked them crunchy, but I wasn't a fan. I think next time I will use just the broccoli/cauliflower mix. I almost added stock or water because it was super thick and paste-like prior to baking, but I'm glad I stuck it out. The veggies release plenty of moisture while cooking to make this a creamy, cheesy dish with just the right level of gooey. Didn't even need the garlic I almost added, either! Very good, just make sure you parboil or leave out the carrots unless you like them crunchy in your casserole... and adding sliced or diced sausage is a great way to make this a main dish. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I bought the Campbells caserole book years ago and have been making this recipe since. This is my daughters favorite dish. I add a little bit more cheese. I also turn it into an entire meal by adding chunks of chicken. My son is alergic to mushroom so I use cream of chicken but i'm sure any creamed soup wouldn't change the yummyness of this dish. I have made this at least once a month for the last 3 years and kids are still stalking the kitchen in anticipation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States