Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Absolute fantastic I did change the recipe a little though. Instead on 1 can cream of mushroom soup i used two. Also rubbed the roast down with some liquid smoke and spices. (Salt,Pepper,Basil,Paprika,Garlic and Onion) Browned the roast in a pan on all sides to make sure all the flavor and juices will stay in the meat. I didn't have any onion soup mix in the house and used the ranch dressing mix i had instead. It was so delicious and perfect i could have eaten the whole roast myself. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carry991

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ansbach, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
turned out ok...my roast was done in 5 hours . vegetables were mushy and no one ate those. Meat was tender and flavourful. Easy to make if in a pinch but will skip the vegetables mext time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Fantastic! I made this for my hubby's birthday dinner, the only things I did that weren't mentioned in the recipe: 1. Trim the fat from the roast 2. Liberally coat the roast with salt and pepper 3. Sear the roast until golden brown on each side (look literally 7 min altogether on medium-high heat) and that's it, I followed the recipe exactly after that and it turned out moist and tender, the potatoes and carrots were tender as well. I am not a very good cook, and I rarely attempt red meat, but it was a huge hit and super easy, will revisit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by localsdrocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
4 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very tasty. The meat was very tender and the gravy was excellent. The simplicity of this recipe can't be beat, although I like the way the veggies turn out in the oven a little better, thus the reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5. I used the high setting on my crock pot and cooked for 5 hours. I did add about 3/4 C of water upon hubby's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Delicious! I've made lots of briskets, but I've never made a post roast before. I had a 3 pound chuck roast and looked at a lot of recipes before deciding on this one. I used small gold potatoes instead of red, and I added a large onion and a few stalks of celery. I browned the meat first in some flour with garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. I thought about adding a can of beef broth because I didn't think the soup would be enough, but I'm glad I didn't. It was so good, I don't think I'll look any further to replace this recipe. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This has turned out extremely well for me. The inexpensive beef bottom round roast is hard to get tender, yet I was able to do it with this recipe. I did add some liquid and kept turning the roast over every few hours and basting it (for about 10) on low. It was delicious and extremely tender, better than a more expensive cut of meat to my surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I am a food SNOB. If I wasn't sick I would not have considered this recipe because it has pre-packaged stuff. But the roast had to be made and this was as low effort as I could find. Picky husband even liked it. He considered it equal to the one I make with red wine and veal stock, etc and I am sad that I've ever gone to all that effort if this suffices. (And I'm pretty sure that french onion soup mix had to be several years old).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Easy to follow and the meat was super tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe for this exactly listed on the instructions. The only thing that was quite accurate was the size of the slow cooker needed, I have a 4 qt slow cooker and the roast itself would barely fit (2.81 lbs), let alone the carrots and potatoes. I had to end up using a 7 qt slow cooker, and by the time this was cooked there was not much room to spare. Also I quartered the potatoes rather than halved them. Made this for Christmas diner and my girlfriend, sister and niece loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States