Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I have been making this exact recipe for years, and so did my mom before me. It was a favorite of my brother and I growing up. Althought others have suggested adding some form of liquid to the meat there is no need to do so. As long as you cook on low your meat will come out perfectly tender 6 to 8 hours later. I have cooked smaller roasts for slightly less time, and much larger roasts for a few hours longer, adding an extra can of soup or the larger roasts. The only change we make is that we don't pour the mixture in then coat the meat with it. We do as follows: 1. Line baking dish with aluminum foil (make it lon enough to wrap around the meat) or one of those reynolds oven bags 2. place the meat in the baking dish 3. spread the cream of mushroom soup over the top of the meat and down the sides 4. sprinkle onion soup mix over top 5. add veggies around meat 6. wrap and tent the meat with the aluminum foil or close the oven bag 7. Cook at 275 for 6 to 8 hours ENJOY!!!! If done correctly the meat comes out so tender it melts in your mouth and it makes its own gravy. My brother and I called this stringy meat when we were little because it literally falls apart and almost looks stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
The pot roast was delicious! I added fresh mushrooms and onions, which really added some flavor. I also seasoned the meat with seasoning salt before putting it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmurray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Easy and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did not have any cream soup so just omitted this step and it was still awesome! No left overs, that was a great thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Wow... so much flavor and the tenderness of the meat is perfect. Although since I did not have a slow cooker, I tried cooking it on a pressure cooker, which cooked much faster. Ultimately one of the best Pot Roast. Definitely will consider making this recipe for my family more often. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was really good and really easy to make. The one fault I had with it (and it was my own) was I added some water to thin the soup.. and it was just too much. Oops! I think next time I will stick to a 1:1 ratio of soup to water. But other then that excellent! I used Campbell's cream of mushroom w/ roasted garlic as the soup! No left overs. And this is the first pot roast I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Yummy! This was very good and tender (and easy). I added beef broth, a large onion, some celery and garlic. My family ate this with gusto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I also have been making this recipe for years, and have never needed to add extra liquid. I do, however, double the soups - the sauce/gravy it makes is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
very good, but i added celery and some water to the recipe; turned out fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My kids LOVED this recipe! And believe me they are not easy to please. I added two cans of the mushroom soup because one did not even coat the meat. I also only cooked on low for 6 hours because it was cooked by then. If I had cooked the full 8 hours it would have been overcooked. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States