Campbell's® Slow Cooker Savory Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My complaints are in regards to the gravy. I was unsure about using cream of mushroom but went ahead and made the recipe as instructed the only change was I added some celery and a little water (water was unneccessary). It wasn't a beefy thick gravy, it was murky and I had to doctor it up with sugar, salt, and pepper to make it taste decent. There is actually a recipe on the Lipton Soup Mix that I'd try, basically this recipe sans the cream of mushroom. Chuck is always good so no complaints about the roast itself. In regards to the people who had to add liquid, I believe it's probably because you don't have a tight enough fitting lid, because the roast itself created A LOT of juices, no additional liquid required at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The left overs also make a great beef soup. Use the left over meat, add more veggies and use the leftover gravy in the soup. Very savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Didn't seem like enough liquid at first, but turned out ok. Roast was a little dry, perhaps due to the low level of liquid. If possible, re-baste the roast from time to time, or add additional liquid to keep everything moist (I'll try beef broth next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Doubled sauce per other viewers suggestions. I didnt half the potatoes, just threw the whole reds in and used a bag of baby carrots. Turned out AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
It was an okay recipe, but I could tell it was going to be a little bland so I added two beef bullion cubes, a dash of bbq sauce, and some steak house grinder and it was good. So if you follow the recipe its going to be a bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiMbOs Mama1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This was a big hit with the family. Based on reviews that said it needed liquid I added 1/2 cup of veg stock. That was NOT needed. There was way too much juice in the bottom of the crock pot after. Next time I will follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I was concerned about dish being too salty from the onion soup mix and/or 'uninteresting' due to cream of mushroom soup (ho-hum): It was neither. This dish is Very Tasty! I omitted potatoes, used regular cream of mushroom soup, and reduced sodium onion soup mix. Cooked 2.5 pounds chuck roast on low for 6.5 hours but it was fall apart tender 5 hours into cooking (in a 4.5 qt cooker). I added big baby carrots 4 hours into cooking, wedge cut onions 5 hours in, then sliced fresh mushrooms 30 minutes before serving. Veggies were perfecty cooked and not mushy. Thickened sauce w/cornstarch on the stove top. About an inch of the roast was exposed above soup mixture--probably because I omitted potatoes. However it didn't matter because I flipped the roast 4 hours into cooking. I did not add any liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very Good! I omitted the carrots and potatoes in the slow cooker as my family isnt big on carrots, and I was also making a potato side dish. The roast was delicious and tender. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Can you use another kind of soup. Do not like mushroom soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was really good. I substituted garlic mushroom soup mix and didn't quite use the whole packet. All in all, an easy to cook tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States