Campbell's® Slow Cooker Hearty Beef and Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I made this chili for the first time and it was great, very filling. I made one change to the recipe though, I used a can of Hunt's fire roasted diced tomatoes and the flavor really came through. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made this recipe without making any changes to it. It was so quick and easy to throw together, that I had it in my slow cooker in no time at all. After simmering for 8 hours, the end result was a thick and hearty chili that completely satisfied my appetite. The only flaw I found was that the chili turned out to be a bit on the bland side. The generous amount of chili powder certainly puts some zing into this dish, but, that alone, isn't enough to label this chili as "flavorful". All in all, this recipe is worth making again. Next time, however, I'll cut back a bit on the chili powder and just add some sweet peppers to flavor things up a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
My husband luvs my neighbors chili. I have tried so many chili recipes without success. I FOUND IT FINALLY. This recipe is very basic, easy but great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I generally LIKE my chili a bit on the mild side, but this recipe was a bit too bland, even for me. It was edible, but it definitely needed crackers, fritos, cheese... something to give it a boost of flavor. And the flavor of cumin was so strong, even mixed in with all the other ingredients. I'm generally not a huge fan of that spice, so next time I make chili I'll cut the cumin in half or omit altogether. In order to "save" the rest of the batch, I added a small can of tomato sauce, a red pepper, some more garlic, and a little basil. That seemed to give it a kick. Now I'll more than likely eat the rest of it. Whereas before, I most likely would've thrown it out or let it go bad. I give it 3 stars because like I said, it was edible. I could've eaten it even without any crackers, but boy it would've been bland. And by the way - you're better off just using plain old tomato sauce, through and through. It's more flavorful than the soup. Campbell's just wants to put their name behind a chili recipe to get people to buy their soup, that's all. (haha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My wife aren't a big fan of kidney beans due to how mushy they become when cooked. But this reciepe was fantastic and the beans had a nice soild texture to them. We have many ideas for us to try with this recipe. HMMMMMMMM Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
OMG... Best chili I have EVER eaten! My fiance LOVED it! He would have perferred me to double the meat, since he is a Meat man! But Perfect! I just made us some last night, and now Im making some for my parents! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did modify it by replacing one of the cans of kidney beans with black beans. We just like black beans better. I did also throw a little salsa in the crock pot as well. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Definitely needed more flavour. The heat was there, and you can't go wrong with the base ingredients, but when the pot was opened, it was all fire and no flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptainHairy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Alton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I tried this recipe and after 8-hours of slow cooking it was definitely thick and heart. I thought is was delicious. I added corn and smoked salt to mine which really made it tasty. The next time I will add less chili powder to it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raphajm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naha, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This has got to be the best chili I have ever made. I like to put a big spoonful of sour cream in it also and it makes it that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States