Campbell's® Slow-Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This turned out to be a great dinner with a few adjustments. I used frozen boneles, skinless chicken thighs (they stay nice and moist), 4 unpeeled quartered potatoes, 1 quartered onion, and 2 stalks of celery. I used 1 can of 98% fat free Cream of Mushroom soup, 1 packet Lipton Onion and Mushroom soup, and 1/2 cup water. Cooked on low for 8 hours, removed the meat and veggies and thickened up the liquid with cornstarch. Added garlic salt and fresh thyme to the resulting gravy and served over rice. Delicious!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is a decent stew. I've had some trouble getting the dumplings to cook through, but the second time I made it I spread it on top like a crust instead of balls for dumplings, and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calophi
Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
We love this recipe!! It is easy and smells so delicious... and tastes even better!! Instead of water, I add chicken broth and a little white wine and it comes out perfect. This is comfort food at it's best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrideToBe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have read several other reviews and some posted some unhappy reviews.I would tweak this as I make it.I would add frozen peas and corn.I would use chicken broth instead of water for added flavor.I would leave out the celery but add a large diced onion instead.As far as the dumplings go,one reviewer had a horrible mess with hers and trashed her whole dish.She said the dumplings made her dish too starchy.Maybe so.What I would do is this:in a separate pot,get two or three cans of chicken broth boiling and add your dumpling dough to that and cook them until done.Then add the dumplings on top of each bowl of mixture served.This will prevent starchiness or having to increase cooking time in crock pot just to get the dumplings completely cooked without possibly scorching the mixture in the crock pot.it never hurts to cook some items separately and then bring them together at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Outrageous. This is the best chicken and dumpling recipe on here, in my opinion. I personally don't care for this type of dumpling, however, so I use spaetzles instead. You can find the recipe on here. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I thought this was horrible! I made the dumplings smaller because people were saying it took longer to cook them; but they were still raw in the center after an hour. I scooped them out but they made the rest of the stew super starchy it wasn't even edible. I ended up throwing the whole thing away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovingcooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great comfort food. I didn't put as much thyme as it called for and I added some parsley and lots of pepper. It took an hour for the bread mix to cook. I did as other reviewers suggested and just put it all across the top instead of dumplings. I also put a chicken bouillon cube in the water to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was very easy to put together. I used whole frozen breast and before I added the dumplings I sliced the chicken into pieces. The dumplings took an hour and probably could have gone a little longer but it smelled so great we had to eat. I would cut back the thyme just a bit but it also needs a little something, it was a tad bland. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
The family loved it - I added peas and doubled the recipe so we would have leftovers and by the time they were done I was glad that I did - only had a small container full left. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is better than a lot of slow-cooker chicken & dumplings recipes I've tried, but it still doesn't capture the taste I remember growing up with. This might be a good start, 'though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States