Campbell's® Slow-Cooker Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Sounds divine! Seems to me, however, that if two steps are swapped, it would save some time and clean-up if the soup, water, and seasonings are mixed in the slow-cooker crock first, then add the chicken and vegetables, then proceed as written. I also like the idea of simmering the dumplings in a saucepan of chicken stock, then adding to the plated dish. Also, the chicken flavour can be boosted by using chicken stock in lieu of the water called for. Looking forward to making this for my sweetie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have read several other reviews and some posted some unhappy reviews.I would tweak this as I make it.I would add frozen peas and corn.I would use chicken broth instead of water for added flavor.I would leave out the celery but add a large diced onion instead.As far as the dumplings go,one reviewer had a horrible mess with hers and trashed her whole dish.She said the dumplings made her dish too starchy.Maybe so.What I would do is this:in a separate pot,get two or three cans of chicken broth boiling and add your dumpling dough to that and cook them until done.Then add the dumplings on top of each bowl of mixture served.This will prevent starchiness or having to increase cooking time in crock pot just to get the dumplings completely cooked without possibly scorching the mixture in the crock pot.it never hurts to cook some items separately and then bring them together at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was ok--my husband wasn't impressed. Won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is very similar to a recipe that my mother has made for years, but with some alterations. No potatoes (the dumplings provide enough carbs!), and thighs instead of breasts, which stand up better to long cooking. Instead of the baking mix dumplings, she used a can of biscuits, each cut into quarters, flattened, and stirred in during the last 30 minutes of cooking. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Awesome recipe, I've made it 3 times and its gets better every time. I used refridgerated biscuits quartered, cooked on high for the last hour and it turned out great. Be careful not to stir it much after you put the biscuits in though, I did the first time I made it and it came out more like a chicken pot pit instead of dumplings. :-) But still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittyhawk15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
meh!, although it was very easy, it was bland and it almost burnt in my slow cooker. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Added a huge chopped onion and alittle bit of poultry spice. Was running short of time so finished of the dumplings in the oven. My Mother told me to stop making her such good things, lol!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I did not care for this one. My family loved it, and it was quick and simple....but it just didn't do the trick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CockeyeBBQ

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This lacked favor and wasn't good at all. Sadly it was a waste of food and I took out of my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
So yummy. No problem with the dumplings. The only thing is instead of 30 minutes for dumplings is it takes an hour and they are perfectly cooked through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States