Campbell's Kitchen Souper Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Its 5 stars after I made some changes. This was a good foundation for sloppy joe but did not cut it for my family. These are the following modifications that I made: 1) added 1/2 orange pepper 2) 1/2 green pepper 3) 1/2 can of dice tomatoes (14 oz.) 4) minced garlic 5) 1/8 red cayenne pepper 6) sea salt and 7) worcestershire sauce. The cayenne pepper gives it a little kick. I cooked all the veggies in the soup until veggies where soft. The rest of the seasonings I tasted and then added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is absolutely my husband's favorite sloppy joe recipe. He always asks for it. Sometimes I add dijon mustard if I have it on hand, but regular mustard suits him just fine. I also sometimes add chopped onions if I'm in the mood to chop them. We love this with potato chips and dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cordes Lakes, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I've been eating these my whole life! We do add brown sugar to this recipe. My kids like to eat theirs with ripple potato chips in the sandwich, which adds salt and crunch. It's good, I've tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
like the other reviewwers this recipe was kind of bland.. so i mixed it up a bit. i added 2 tablespoons of crushed red pepper, 2 tablespoons of Lawrys HOt taco seasoning. I also subistutied the water for milk. this reciped was absoultely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have been using this recipe for quite a few years but do not use the mustard. Instead try it with sweet pickle relish (add to taste) or if you have picky eaters like I do just use the juice from a jar of sweet pickles or even (my wife likes this) dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I thought this recipe was quite bland. There wasn't much flavor to it and I ended up adding worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper and some sugar to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Not very tasty. Definitely needed more flavor. Maybe sprinkle some onion powder. I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenAZ

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I made this because my daughter hates onions and peppers. My whole family ended up liking it. The taste and consistency was just right. The only thing I did different was I added brown mustard to give it a little more spice. We also only eat wheat so we ate it on wheat buns. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
fine - I had all ingredients on hand so I tried it. Good but soupy. Next time I will add more beef. But the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States