Campbell's Kitchen Beef Wellington Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this for the 1st time on Christmas Day. Everybody thought I was crazy - but it was worth the risk. It was incredible. I also made a can of Campbell's Cream of Mushroom soup and added fresh mushrooms for a sauce. Served with mashed potatoes and asparagus. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I tried this for the first time this Easter and it was a hit. Several couples from work came over for brunch and I was still hearing about it on Wednesday! I do recommend cooking it a little longer the first time. The meat was pretty rare in the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I followed this recipe almost exactly. I'm not a rare meet fan so after cooking the tenderloin according to the recipe, I lowered the temperature to 375 degrees and gave it another 10 minutes. Took it out & wrapped it up in refrigerator for an hour as directed. After the egg/water mix and mushrooms and onions went on the puff pastry & the whole thing went in the oven - it seemed like it started to brown too quick so I put a piece of tin foil over the whole thing (like you do with pie crust edges to keep them from burning only I did it over the whole thing). My heat shield worked well and no burning. The roast was fabulous and everybody raved - even the pickiest of family were happy and impressed. Tender as the day is long and delicate and flaky. Bangin' roast. You won't be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This is an excellent meal! The only thing is when you roll the meat in the bread, it sometimes gets a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was an expensive wast of meat. The crust was doughy on the inside and the meat was under-cooked. I even cooked it for about 15 minutes longer than indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Absolutely amazing!! My dad had been craving beef wellington, so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. I ended up cutting the 2lbs of meat in half, and made 2 smaller wellingtons. I added a little onion salt and garlic salt to the meat before cooking, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Definitely use a meat thermometer to get the exact temp. I took mine out at 145 degrees, and the meat was cooked to perfection. Just a slight bit of pink in the center! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was just OK. I seasoned the mushroom mix with a touch of salt, but otherwise followed it to the letter. It was way too rare with the recommended cooking time and the pastry fell off the meat. It looked really pretty and impressive until I cut it and it bled all over the cutting board. I threw it in for an extra 20 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I followed the recipe to the T it was easy and came out perfect and it looked good. I did use a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maccordeiro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Made just as recipe was written - dough did not "stick" to meat well due to veggies. I thnk next time I will try it with veggies on just one side (maybe use 1/4 as many) or save them and make a sauce to go with. Otherwise - PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Looks great! Can't wait to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Asparagus, Prosciutto and Fontina Tart

See how to make an easy but elegant savory appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States