Campbell's® Healthy Request® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I actually thought these were good for a lower fat, lower sodium version of the original. As for the only other review so far - the directions do say to cook the beans first.....I cooked mine till they were done and had no problem with hard beans. I did use non-fat milk. Only other comment I have is the picture provided by Campbell's definitely has more than 2 tbls. of the french fried onions but heck - I cheated too and added more. I love those things! Will use this recipe always in lieu of the original when I'm craving green bean casserole which isn't too often but occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This "healthful" version of traditional green bean casserole was very good. No one at the table knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Bump

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This recipe is OK. Unless you like hard vegetables, cook the beans really well before putting in this dish... or buy two or three cans of green beans and use those instead. I also added chopped ham to mine... which would have been great if everything else wasn't crunchy (probably my own fault for not cooking beans enough prior to.) Perhaps this should be cooked at a higher temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
We nade the healthy version of Green Bean Casserole and was pleasantly surprised at how much like the original. I did use frozen beans instead of fresh and had no problem getting them done. The family wondered why I went so light on the onions so next time, I will add a few more. This is quite good. I will make this from now on instead of the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Got great reviews at my Thanksgiving dinner. Doubled the recipe. There wasn't enough sauce, so I added a 1/3 more sauce (extra soup left in the can). Plus I used almost a whole large can of the onions -- it didn't seem over powering though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
yummy!! highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie reneer
Home Town: Van Buren, Indiana, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I found this to be a little bland. Will be adding ham and more onions next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jz040488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good, but the recipe would be better written with cooking the beans as part of the instructions. I didn't see the notes about pre-cooking the beans in the ingredients list and the rest of my holiday dinner was timed to be finished at the same time, but the beans were still not thoroughly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is how I have made the green bean casserole from the original version, without seeing this recipe. I'm not sure if anyone knew the difference because my in laws seem to be heavy handed with salt while cooking, but I really didn't care. I don't care for all that salt and figured they could add salt if they felt it to be too bland. I however wouldn't skimp on the French's French Fried Onions! Also, the original version calls for a full cup of milk which makes it runny and soggy to me. So even if you prefer the other soup to this healthier version, take the less milk approach! Much better in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Great recipe using fresh green beans as opposed to all the ones calling for canned. I added (and balanced it into the recipe) fresh mushrooms. Added more soup and about 1/2 cup of fresh onion instead of onion powder. If you like you veggies crunchy...use the cook time specified. Otherwise, consider cooking it longer before adding the fried onions (stir more often to keep from burning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States