Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I make this every Thanksgiving, I love the french onion, (who doesn't?) However, this year, I am going to follow the recipe but omit soysauce, a little less milk, and add about 2-3 caremelized for an extra kick! Then top with the french onions, cause I find that last year it was good, but it could have been better if it wasn't as "milky" and I will be using fresh string beans (steamed) then cut! Happy thankgiving all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Reading all of the reviews I checked my Durkee's French Fried Onion Recipe and it only calls for one can of cream of mushroom soup and 3/4c. milk. This may be why many thought it was too runny. This is a staple for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
One of my favorites. I used about 1/3 cup of milk and omitted the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Great traditional recipe. I use 1/2 cup milk and 1 can slightly chopped water chestnuts mixed in the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Omit the soy sauce and this dish is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Few tweaks from Grandma Lucy's recipe makes this recipe so good (albeit so bad for you - but what the heck - we only serve this at Thanksgiving). Mix beans with cream of celery instead of mushroom and mix with crumbled Ritz Crackers, and milk as needed but I rarely add any. Mix in chunks of Velveeta cheese (yes Velveeta), omit soy sauce, bake as directed and top with onions for last 5 - 10 minutes. My 5 stars are for this revised recipe which is all raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I make this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas. I love it, and so does everyone who tries it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Reynolds

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I've made this for years - but always use fresh green beans & pre-cook them (boil) first with some seasoning & bacon. Use real cream i/o milk - part Sherry. Saute sliced onions & fresh mushrooms together until the mushrooms are limp - then follow the directions given. Makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I use this as a base for my green bean casserole, with modifications passed down from my grandmother. I omit the soy sauce, use much less milk so it isn't soupy, and add a medium block of cubed Velveeta. Not figure-friendly, but lick-the-plate delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe has been a tradition for Thanks giving for years. I use 1 can Golden Mushroom and 1 can Cream of Mushroom for a prettier color and richer taste. Also, I use low sodium soy sauce or skip it altogether. Reduce milk to 1/2 c. and 1 c. french fried onions in the sauce and 1/2 c. on top makes it less runny and not too overwhelmed by the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States